Los 40 USA
NewslettersSign in to commentAPP
spainSPAINchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


2024 Copa América draw pots: can USMNT, Mexico, Brazil, Argentina play each other in group stage?

The draw for the tournament, which will be held in the United States next summer, will take place in Miami on 7 December.

Estados UnidosUpdate:
Estados Unidos, al bombo 1 de Copa América

The draw for the 2024 Copa América will take place in less than two weeks’ time, with 16 teams rather than the usual 10 nervously waiting to find out their fate ahead of the tournament. The 48th edition of the tournament will take place in the United States and will see six CONCACAF teams participate following the confederation’s strategic partnership with CONMEBOL, announced in January.

Which CONACAF teams will play at the 2024 Copa América?

In the November international break, the first four CONCACAF teams booked their spots at the finals - Nations League semi-finalists the United States, Panama, Jamaica and Mexico. The last two qualifiers will be the winners of two ties which will take place in March between the losing quarter-finals in the Nations League - Canada vs Trinidad and Tobago, and Costa Rica vs Honduras.

Mexico and United States, Argentina and Brazil to be kept apart

Ahead of the draw in Miami on 7 December, which will divide the qualified teams into four groups of four, it was announced the FIFA World Ranking going into the November international break would determine which team was placed in which pot. As a result, the four highest-ranked CONMEBOL and CONACAF teams combined, Argentina, Brazil, the United States and Mexico, are in Pot 1.

Arch-rivals Mexico and the United States will therefore not face each other in the group stage, as is the case for Argentina and Brazil. Uruguay and Colombia are likely to be the countries everyone wants to avoid from Pot 2.

Which teams are which pots for the 2024 Copa América draw?

The pots for the Copa América draw are the following:

2024 Copa América draw pots

Pot 1

  • Argentina
  • Brazil
  • United States
  • Mexico

Pot 2

  • Uruguay
  • Colombia
  • Peru
  • Ecuador

Pot 3

  • Chile
  • Venezuela
  • Panama
  • Paraguay

Pot 4

  • Jamaica
  • Bolivia
  • Honduras/Costa Rica
  • Canada/Trinidad and Tobago

One team from each pot will be drawn into each of the four groups. The nations will play each other once in the group stage, with the top two teams from each section progressing to the quarter-finals.