Los 40 USA
Sign in to commentAPP
spainSPAINchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


Brandon Vázquez and Alejandro Zendejas called up for USMNT friendlies

Interim coach Anthony Hudson has called up 11 players for the first time as the USMNT hope to turn the page after their disappointment at the 2022 World Cup.

Estados Unidos
Brandon Vázquez y Alejandro Zendejas encabezan lista de Estados Unidos para enfrentar a Serbia y Colombia
RODRIGO ARANGUA /AFP/ Twitter @Brvndonv

The USMNT kicked off the new World Cup cycle and head towards 2026 by announcing their first squad of 2023. A total of 26 players have been summoned for two friendly games, against Serbia and Colombia, under interim coach Anthony Hudson.

You might also enjoy

In his 26-man list, 13 players will be hoping to make their first appearance with the USMNT while another 11 have been called up the first time and will be looking to consolidate a place in the medium term, looking further ahead to the 2026 World Cup which will be held in the United States, Canada and Mexico.

Among those who have received their first call-up are Brandon Vázquez and Alejandro Zendejas - two players who were hoping for an opportunity in the squad that travelled to Qatar but were left out. However, as a new era begins for the USMNT, they will both be trying to secure a regular place - opting to represent Team USA rather than Mexico.

Likewise, other emerging players from the United States such as Roman Celentano, Julian Gressel, Sam Rogers, Paxten Aaronson, Alan Soñora and Emmanuel Sabbi have been called up to the senior side for the first time.

Other more experienced players meanwhile, such as Gabriel Slonina, will be hoping to feature in the starting XI for the first time - the Chelsea goalkeeper had previously been called up, but did not enjoy minutes under previous coach Gregg Berhalter.

USMNT squad for the friendlies against Serbia and Colombia


Roman Celentano, Sean Johnson, and Gabriel Slonina.


Jonathan Gomez, Julian Gressel, DeJuan Jones, Aaron Long, Jalen Neal, Sam Rogers, John Tolkin, Walker Zimmerman.


Paxten Aaronson, Kellyn Acosta, Aidan Morris, Paxton Pomykal, Alan Soñora, Eryk Williamson.


Paul Arriola, Cade Cowell, Jesus Ferreira, Matthew Hoppe, Emmanuel Sabbi, Brandon Vazquez, and Alejandro Zendejas.