NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


Concacaf unveils details for the new Champions Cup

Starting in 2024, the new continental competition will see 27 clubs play 51 games in pursuit of a multimillion-dollar prize.

Estados UnidosUpdate:
Concacaf confirma formato y calendario de Copa de Campeones

Club León’s 3-1 aggregate victory over LAFC represented the final game of the Concacaf Champions League under its current format. On Tuesday Concacaf released details of a series of format changes that will go into effect from 2024.

The most immediately obvious change is the return of the ‘Concacaf Champions Cup’ moniker, which was the old name of the governing body’s flagship club tournament.

In a statement announcing the changes, Concacaf president Victor Montagliani explained: “The Concacaf Champions Cup will take continental club football in our region to the next level.”

“It will elevate leagues and clubs across Concacaf and the new name for the competition, alongside this vibrant new brand, allows us to celebrate our rich history while looking ahead to a great future of international club football in North America, Central America, and the Caribbean.”

What is the new format of the Concacaf Champions Cup?

One of the key changes for the revamped tournament is an expansion to 27 clubs. The competition will remain as a direct elimination tournament, but an additional round will be added before the last-16 stage. Five teams will receive automatic qualification for the Round of 16, while the other 22 entrants will compete in 11 two-legged ties to determine the remaining places.

The first round, round of 16, quarter-finals and semi-finals will be played over two legs, maintaining the current structure. However the grand final will be played in a single match to ensure maximum drama, meaning that the tournament will mirror the format of UEFA’s Champions League.

Concacaf have also confirmed that the top prize for the winning team has been increased substantially, with $5 million on offer for the winner.

Club Leon were crowned the final Concacaf Champions League winners on Sunday night.
Full screen
Club Leon were crowned the final Concacaf Champions League winners on Sunday night.Cristian de Marchena

How will teams qualify for the Concacaf Champions Cup?

Qualification for the Concacaf Champions Cup can be achieved through a number of different competitions. Regional competitions like the Leagues Cup, the Caribbean Cup and the Central American Cup will offer entry to the Concacaf Champions Cup, in addition to the highest finishers in MLS, Liga MX and the Canadian Premier League.

Here’s how those qualification places break down...

Leagues Cup (3 places)

Champion, second and third place

Central American Cup (6 places)

Champion, second place, losing semi-finalists and two additional spots

Caribbean Cup (3 places)

Champion, second and third place

MLS (5 places)

MLS Cup champion, the Champion of the Supporters Shield, the winner of the other Conference, and the two teams with the most points across the season

Liga MX (6 places)

Winners of the Apuerta and Clausura tournaments, as well as both runners-up and the two teams with the most points across the year

Canadian Premier League (2 places)

Playoff Champion and the regular season champion

USA Cup and Canada Cup (1 place each)

Champions of the cup competition in the United States and Canada

Clasificación y formato de la Copa de Campeones Concacaf
Full screen
Clasificación y formato de la Copa de Campeones ConcacafConcacaf

To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?