Los 40 USA
Sign in to commentAPP
spainSPAINchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


Which teams have won the Premier League the most times?

In 1992, the Premier League replaced the old English First Division, with seven clubs having since been crowned champions in the 29 years of its existence.

FILE PHOTO: Football - Manchester United v Swansea City - Barclays Premier League  - Old Trafford  - 12/5/13  Manchester United manager Sir Alex Ferguson celebrates winning the Barclays Premier League with the trophy  Action Images via Reuters/Jason Cairnduff   EDITORIAL USE ONLY. No use with unauthorized audio, video, data, fixture lists, club/league logos or live services. Online in-match use limited to 45 images, no video emulation. No use in betting, games or single club/league/player publications.  Please contact your account representative for further details./File Photo
Action ImagesAction Images via Reuters

The Premier League replaced the First Division, which was founded in 1888 and ran until 1992. The club with the most First Division titles, i.e. before its rebranding, is Liverpool, who have 18, they are followed by Arsenal on 10 and Everton on nine with Manchester United and Aston Villa both on seven. Leeds United were the last club to win it before the competition was took on its new persona.

Manchester dominates Premier League titles

Since the old English First Division became the Premier League in 1992, seven different clubs have lifted the trophy during the past 29 years. The first club to win the rebranded Premier League was Sir Alex Ferguson’s Manchester United who won the inaugural, 22-team competition in 1993 with two games to go, finishing the season 10 points clear of nearest rivals Aston Villa.

Fergie’s United successfully defended the trophy, ending six points clear of Blackburn Rovers, who pipped the reigning champions to the title the following year on a gripping final day in spite of losing to Liverpool at Anfield.

United were back on the podium with back-to-back titles in 1995-6 and 1996-7 before Arsenal became the third club to win the Premier League in 1998, the first of their three titles – once again it was a close finish, United missed out by just one point like they had three years earlier. United underlined their dominance in the domestic league by winning it for the next three seasons in a row. By the time the Premier League was 10 years old, Man United had won it seven times.

Their dominance would last another decade. United’s last Premier League triumph was in 2013. Their neighbours Manchester City have taken over where they left off, having toasted six titles since their first in 2011-2-12. Along with everyone else, the newly-crowned champions have a long way to catch up with United who is the club to have won the most Premier League titles with 13.

Premier League titles

  • 13 Manchester United
  • 6 Manchester City
  • 5 Chelsea
  • 3 Arsenal
  • 1 Blackburn Rovers
  • 1 Leicester City
  • 1 Liverpool

English top flight winners

In the graphic below you can see how the title winners have evolved over the years ever since the English league structure was formed. United also lead the way, on 20 title, with Liverpool just one behind.