NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


World Cup 2022: who won the Golden Boot in Qatar for top scorer

Lionel Messi and Kylian Mbappé came into the World Cup final looking to claim the top scorer award to their main objective.

World Cup 2022: top scorers in race for the Golden Boot in Qatar

Argentina made it through to the World Cup final for the second time in three tournaments after a 3-0 victory over Croatia in the first semi-final. La Albiceleste have tasted international glory recently in the 2019 Copa América (and the 2022 Finalissima, I’m not sure if we should really count that though?) but haven’t won international soccer’s top prize since 1986, when a certain Diego Maradona ran amok in Mexico. So to the Qatar final against France...

What happened: Argentina beat France | World Cup 2022 final

Argentina's Lionel Messi celebrates scoring their third goal.
Full screen
Argentina's Lionel Messi celebrates scoring their third goal.HANNAH MCKAYREUTERS

Who are the 2022 World Cup top scorers?

The Champions League, the Copa América, LaLiga, Ligue 1, the Ballon d’Or, the Best, Golden Ball…there’s not much that Lionel Messi hasn’t won in his career that he could’ve won, especially when you add the 2022 World Cup to his name. And what about a World Cup Golden Boot to go with it?

PSG teammate, France’s Kylian Mbappé and Messi came into the final on five goals each, and both decided to fight it out for top scorer right to the very end. And, as you can see, it’s the prince that outscored the king, netting a hat-trick (helped by two penalties) to the brace of the Argentine.

World Cup 2022 top scorers
Full screen
World Cup 2022 top scorersAS English

If you love sporting data, is the place for you.

World Cup 2022: top scorers

Lionel Messi (Argentina) – 8

Kylian Mbappe (France) – 7

Olivier Giroud (France) – 4

Julian Alvarez (Argentina) – 4

Bukayo Saka (England) – 3

Richarlison (Brazil) – 3

Enner Valencia (Ecuador) – 3

Cody Gakpo (Netherlands) – 3

Marcus Rashford (England) – 3

Alvaro Morata (Spain) – 3

Gonçalo Ramos (Portugal) - 3


To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?