NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


Neymar and Marcelo left out of Copa América preliminary list

Dunga announced a list of 40 players for the summer tournament in the US. Included are Filipe, Dani Alves, Diego Alves, Rafinha and Kaká.

Neymar and Marcelo left out of Copa América preliminary list
Marcelo SayãoEFE

Brazil national team coach Dunga announced a provisional list of 40 players for this summer's Copa América in which there are several notable absentees. Real Madrid full-backs Marcelo and Danilo have not been included, and nor have David Luiz, Thiago Silva and Neymar.

In the list however are Casemiro, Dani Alves, Rafinha Alcántara, Filipe Luis and Valencia keeper Diego Alves.

Also featured in the 40-man perliminary list is Orlando City's Ricardo Kaká, as well as Dunga regulars - Willian, Roberto Firmino, Oscar and Lucas Moura, as well as several younger players who will likely be included in Brazil's Rio 2016 Olympic squad.

The definitive squad list will be announced on 5 May.

Brazil have landed in Group B in the Copa América Centenario, which will take place between 3rd and 26th June in the United States; their grouop rivals include Ecuador, Peru and Haiti.

Before the tournament, Brazil have lined up a friendly against Panama on 29th May in Denver.

The Brazil provisional list:

Goalkeepers: Alisson (Internacional), Marcelo Grohe (Gremio), Diego Alves (Valencia), Ederson (Benfica).

Defenders: Daniel Alves (Barcelona), Fabinho (Monaco), Fágner (Corinthians), Alex Sandro (Juventus), Douglas Santos (Atlético Mineiro), Filipe Luis (Atlético de Madrid), Gabriel Paulista (Arsenal), Gil (Shandong Luneng), Jemerson (Roma), Marquinhos (Paris-Saint Germain), Miranda (Inter Milan).

Midfielders: Rodrigo Caio (Sao Paulo), Casemiro (Real Madrid), Elias (Corinthians), Fernandinho (Manchester City), Luiz Gustavo (Wolfsburg), Rafinha Alcántara (Barcelona), Walace (Gremio), Felipe Anderson (Lazio), Kaká (Orlando City), Lucas Lima (Santos), Lucas Moura (Paris-Saint Germain), Oscar (Chelsea), Paulo Henrique Ganso (Sao Paulo), Philippe Coutinho (Liverpool), Renato Augusto (Beijing Guoan), Willian (Chelsea), Alex Teixeira (Jiangsu Suming), Douglas Costa (Bayern Munich).

Forwards: Firmino (Liverpool), Gabriel (Santos), Gabriel Jesús (Palmeiras), Hulk (Zenit), Ricardo Oliveira (Santos), Jonas (Benfica) and Luan (Gremio).


To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?