Marco Asensio nominated for Uefa Golden Boy award

The gong, which is handed out by Italian media outlet Tuttosport, is considered the Ballon d'Or for under-21s. Three other Liga players on the list.
Copa del Rey live:Quarter Final Draw



Marco Asensio’s performances for Espanyol last season and his eye-catching start to this campaign with Real Madrid have earned the Spaniard a nomination for the Uefa Golden Boy award, which selects the best under-21 player across Europe’s league annually.

Asensio is on the 40-player list for the award, organized by Turin-based daily Tuttsport, along with three other Liga players: Lucas Hernández (Atlético), Carlos Fernández (Sevilla) and Tonny Sanabria (Betis).

Previous winners of the award include Leo Messi (2005), Sergio Agüero (2007), Isco (2012) and Paul Pogba (2013). The 2015 winner was France and Manchester United winger Anthony Martial.

Lista de nominados al Golden Boy

Player Club Nationality League
Leon Bailey Ghent Jamaica Belgium
Youri Tielemans Anderlecht Belgium Belgium
Julian Brandt Leverkusen Germany Bundesliga
Andreas Christensen Gladbach Denmark Bundesliga
Kingsley Coman Bayern France Bundesliga
Mahmoud Dahoud Gladbach Germany Bundesliga
Ousmane Dembélé Dortmund Germany Bundesliga
Breel Embolo Schalke Switzerland Bundesliga
Alen Halilovic Hamburg Croatia Bundesliga
Renato Sanches Bayern Portugal Bundesliga
Leroy Sané Schalke Germany Bundesliga
Jonathan Tah Leverkusen Germany Bundesliga
Ante Coric Dinamo Zagreb Croatia Croatia
Riechedley Bazoer Ajax Holland Holland
Nathan Vitesse Brazil Holland
Jairo Riedewald Ajax Holland Holland
Marco Asensio Real Madrid Spain LaLiga Santander
Carlos Fernández Sevilla Spain LaLiga Santander
Lucas Hernández Atlético France LaLiga Santander
Tonny Sanabria Betis Paraguay LaLiga Santander
Gabriel Boschilia Monaco Brazil Ligue 1
Emmanuel Mammana Lyon Argentina Ligue 1
Almamy Touré Monaco Mali Ligue 1
Gonçalo Guedes Benfica Portugal Portugal
Ruben Neves Porto Portugal Portugal
Delle Alli Tottenham England Premier League
Demarai Gray Leicester England Premier League
Marko Grujic Liverpool Serbia Premier League
Kelechi Iheanacho Manchester City Nigeria Premier League
Alex Iwobi Arsenal Nigeria Premier League
Ruben Loftus-Cheek Chelsea England Premier League
Marcus Rashford Manchester United England Premier League
Aleksandr Golovin CSKA Moscow Russia Russia
Moussa Dembélé Celtic France Scottish Premier League
Amadou Diawara Napoli Guinea-Conakri Serie A
Gianluigi Donnarumma Milan Italia Serie A
Gabriel Barbosa Inter Brasil Serie A
Olivier Ntcham Genoa Francia Serie A
Viktor Kovalenko Shakhtar Ukraine Ukraine