NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINargentinaARGENTINAchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOperuPERUlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA

Italian Grand Prix

Hamilton cruises to victory and top of drivers' championship

The Mercedes driver led from start to finish in Monza to record his first back-to-back victories of the season and leads Sebastian Vettel by three points.

Hamilton cruises to victory and top of drivers' championship

Lewis Hamilton moved to the top of the drivers' world championship for the first time this year as he led from start to finish to claim a second win in as many races as Mercedes dominated the Italian Grand Prix.

The 32-year-old Briton, seeking his fourth world title, made a perfect start from his record 69th pole position to lead his Mercedes team-mate Valtteri Bottas home for his sixth win this year, his fourth at Monza and the 59th of his career.

Hamilton assumes control of drivers' standings

Full screen

Hamilton now leads four-time champion Sebastian Vettel by three points after the German finished third, 36.317 seconds adrift, in his Ferrari in front of a big home crowd on the weekend of the Italian team's 70th anniversary celebrations.

Having won in Belgium last Sunday, Hamilton also became the first driver to score back-to-back victories this year. It was Mercedes' third one-two this season and the team's 39th overall.

Australian Daniel Ricciardo, who started 16th after incurring grid penalties, came home fourth for Red Bull ahead of Kimi Raikkonen in the second Ferrari, French rookie Esteban Ocon of Force India, Canadian teenager Lance Stroll and his Williams team-mate Felipe Massa.

Mexican Sergio Pérez took ninth in the second Force India ahead of Dutchman Max Verstappen, who had started 13th for Red Bull and suffered an early puncture.

Drivers' standings

1. Lewis Hamilton (Britain) Mercedes 238 2. Sebastian Vettel (Germany) Ferrari 235 3. Valtteri Bottas (Finland) Mercedes 197 4. Daniel Ricciardo (Australia) Red Bull 144 5. Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Ferrari 138 6. Max Verstappen (Netherlands) Red Bull 68 7. Sergio Perez (Mexico) Force India 58 8. Esteban Ocon (France) Force India 55 9. Carlos Sainz Jr (Spain) Toro Rosso 36 10. Nico Huelkenberg (Germany) Renault 34

To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?