Ajax 1-2 Real Madrid: Tagliafico goal rightly ruled out, says AS ref
Former FIFA official Eduardo Iturralde González says the decision to chalk off a first-half Ajax goal after a VAR review was the correct one.
Damir Skomina was right to rule out Nicolás Tagliafico's goal for hosts Ajax in Wednesday's Champions League last-16 first leg with Real Madrid, says AS' resident referee.
Tagliafico header disallowed after video review
Tagliafico's header shortly before half time was chalked off when, after re-watching the incident as part of a VAR review, referee Skomina deemed Dusan Tadic to have been interfering with play from an offside position.
The VAR (video assistant referee) system is making its Champions League debut in the knockout rounds of this season's tournament.
Tadic, who was standing just in front of Madrid goalkeeper Thibaut Courtois when Tagliafico headed towards goal, was correctly ruled to have been in an illegal position, says former FIFA official Eduardo Iturralde González.
"He's influencing the play," Iturralde González said. "The keeper can't challenge for the ball because of him."
UEFA take to Twitter to clarify incident
On the official Champions League Twitter account, UEFA later explained the decision:
Benzema, Asensio goals give Madrid opening-leg win
Goals by Karim Benzema and Marco Asensio earned holders Madrid a 2-1 victory over Ajax, who scored through Hakim Ziyech.
To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?