Donald Trump has now declared disaster in all 50 US states

With a population of over a half a million people, the state of Wyoming was the last to be declared a disaster zone due to the ongoing Covod-19 pandemic.

Donald Trump has now declared disaster in all 50 US states

With over 560,000 confirmed positive Covid-19 cases and over 22,000 deaths, the United States of America has become the new epicentre of the global coronavirus pandemic.

With President of the United States Donald Trump adding the state of Wyoming to the other 49 states, for the first time in history all 50 US states have been declared as major disaster zones simultaneously.

Trump Coronavirus Task Force press briefingApril 6, 2020 - Washington, DC, United States: President Donald J. Trump delivers remarks on the COVID-19 pandemic during the Coronavirus Task Force briefing at the White House. (Contacto) 10/04/2020 ONLY FOR USE IN SPAIN

Wyoming Governor Mark Gordon wrote to the president late last week with the state home to over 500,000 people and having registered more than 200 cases of the coronavirus at that time.

“Though Wyoming has not reached the dire situations of some states, this declaration will help us to prepare and mobilize resources when we need them,” Gordon said.

The president's assistant Jude Deere confirmed that Wyoming had been added to the disaster zone states late on Saturday with the 'peak' cases in the US not expected until late next week despite calls from certain sectors for Trump to "open the country".

Current scientific data indicates that the US will reach its peak number of deaths from coronavirus on or around April 16 with Surgeon General Jerome Adams offering a stark warning about what is expected from the next wave of the virus.

This is going to be our Pearl Harbor moment, our 9/11 moment" he said during an interview with Fox News.

Keep up to date with all the latest on the Covid-19 pandemic with our live blog