HOLY WEEK

Pope Francis' Holy Thursday mass in the Vatican: times, how to watch live online

Holy Thursday on 1 April 2021 sees two services take place in the Vatican as part of Holy Week: Chrism Mass and the Mass of the Lord's Supper.

0
Pope Francis' Holy Thursday mass in the Vatican: times, how to watch live online
Andrew Medichini / POOL EFE

Pope Francis Vatican Holy Thursday mass live: Easter 2021

Holy Thursday, 1 April 2021: Chrism Mass and Mass of the Lord's Supper

As part of Holy Week 2021, Holy Thursday sees two services take place at the Vatican:

At 10:00 CEST, Chrism Mass was held at St Peter's Basilica, with Pope Francis presiding over the event.

Pope Francis attends the Chrism Mass inside St. Peter's Basilica, at the Vatican, where he blesses a token amount of oil that will be used to administer the sacraments for the year.

At 18:00 CEST, Cardinal Giovanni Battista Re, the Dean of the College of Cardinals, will preside over the Mass of the Lord's Supper, also at St Peter's Basilica.

What is Chrism Mass?

Held on the morning of Holy Thursday, Chrism Mass honours the institution of priesthood, and celebrates priests’ unity with the bishop of their diocese.

Its name is a reference to the holy oils that are blessed as part of the service, before being used in the sacraments throughout the year ahead.

What is the Mass of the Lord's Supper?

The Mass of the Lord's Supper, which takes place on the evening of Holy Thursday, commemorates Jesus' last supper - the final meal he shared with his disciples before his crucifixion.

Mass of the Lord's Supper: world times

The Mass of the Lord’s Supper is at 17:00 BST, 12:00 EDT and 09:00 PDT.

Find out what time the Mass of the Lord's Supper takes place where you are in the world.

How to watch:

The Vatican News YouTube channel has a live video of the event: