NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINargentinaARGENTINAchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOperuPERUlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA

Oscars Awards 2021: full list of winners updated by category

Oscars Awards 2021: full list of winners updated by category

Oscars Awards 2021 - Full list of winners

Best Original Screenplay

"Promising Young Woman" - Winner

"Judas and the Black Messiah"


"Sound of Metal"

 "The Trial of the Chicago 7"


Best Cinematography

Judas and the Black Messiah -Sean Bobbitt

Mank - Erik Messerschmidt - Winner

News of the World - Dariusz Wolski

Nomadland - Joshua James Richards

The Trial of the Chicago 7 - Phedon Papamichael


Best Adapted Screenplay

"The Father" - Winner

"Borat Subsequent Moviefilm"


"One Night in Miami"

"The White Tiger"


Best International Feature Film

"Another Round" (Denmark) - Winner

"Better Days" (Hong Kong)

"Collective" (Romania)

"The Man Who Sold His Skin" (Tunisia)

"Quo Vadis, Aida?" (Bosnia and Herzegovina)


Best Supporting Actor

Daniel Kaluuya - "Judas and the Black Messiah" - Winner

Sacha Baron Cohen - "The Trial of the Chicago 7"

Leslie Odom Jr. - "One Night in Miami"

Paul Raci - "Sound of Metal"

LaKeith Stanfield - "Judas and the Black Messiah"


Best makeup and hairstyling

Emma - Marese Langan, Laura Allen and Claudia Stolze

Hillbilly Elegy - Eryn Krueger Mekash, Matthew Mungle and Patricia Dehaney

Ma Rainey's Black Bottom - Sergio Lopez-Rivera, Mia Neal and Jamika Wilson - Winner

Mank - Gigi Williams, Kimberley Spiteri and Colleen LaBaff

Pinocchio - Mark Coulier, Dalia Colli and Francesco Pegoretti


Best Costume Design

Emma - Alexandra Byrne

Ma Rainey's Black Bottom - Ann Roth - Winner

Mank - Trish Summerville

Mulan - Bina Daigeler

Pinocchio - Massimo Cantini Parrini


Best Director

Chloe Zhao - "Nomadland" - Winner

David Fincher - "Mank"

Emerald Fennell - "Promising Young Woman"

Lee Isaac Chung - "Minari"

Thomas Vinterberg - "Another Round"

Best Sound

Sound of Metal - Nicolas Becker, Jaime Baksht, Michellee Couttolenc, Carlos Cortés and Phillip Bladh - Winner

Greyhound - Warren Shaw, Michael Minkler, Beau Borders and David Wyman

Mank - Ren Klyce, Jeremy Molod, David Parker, Nathan Nance and Drew Kunin

News of the World - Oliver Tarney, Mike Prestwood Smith, William Miller and John Pritchett

Soul - Ren Klyce, Coya Elliott and David Parker


Best Live Action Short Film

Feeling Through - Doug Roland and Susan Ruzenski

The Letter Room - Elvira Lind and Sofia Sondervan

The Present - Farah Nabulsi and Ossama Bawardi

Two Distant Strangers - Travon Free and Martin Desmond Roe - Winner

White Eye - Tomer Shushan and Shira Hochman


Best Animated Short Film

Burrow - Madeline Sharafian and Michael Capbarat

Genius Loci - Adrien Mérigeau and Amaury Ovise

If Anything Happens I Love You - Will McCormack and Michael Govier - Winner

Opera - Erick Oh

Yes-People - Gísli Darri Halldórsson and Arnar Gunnarsson


Best Documentary (Short Subject) 

Colette - Anthony Giacchino and Alice Doyard - Winner

A Concerto Is a Conversation - Ben Proudfoot and Kris Bowers

Do Not Split - Anders Hammer and Charlotte Cook

Hunger Ward - Skye Fitzgerald and Michael Scheuerman

A Love Song for Latasha - Sophia Nahli Allison and Janice Duncan


Best Documentary Feature 

Collective - Alexander Nanau and Bianca Oana

Crip Camp - Nicole Newnham, Jim LeBrecht and Sara Bolder

The Mole Agent - Maite Alberdi and Marcela Santibáñez

My Octopus Teacher - Pippa Ehrlich, James Reed and Craig Foster - Winner

Time - Garrett Bradley, Lauren Domino and Kellen Quinn


Best Visual Effects

Love and Monsters - Matt Sloan, Genevieve Camilleri, Matt Everitt and Brian Cox

The Midnight Sky - Matthew Kasmir, Christopher Lawrence, Max Solomon and David Watkins

Mulan - Sean Faden, Anders Langlands, Seth Maury and Steve Ingram

The One and Only Ivan - Nick Davis, Greg Fisher, Ben Jones and Santiago Colomo Martinez

Tenet - Andrew Jackson, David Lee, Andrew Lockley and Scott Fisher - Winner


Best Supporting Actress

Olivia Colman - "The Father"

Amanda Seyfried - "Mank"

Glenn Close - "Hillbilly Elegy"

Youn Yuh-jung - "Minari" - Winner

Maria Bakalova - "Borat Subsequent Moviefilm"


Best Production Design


The Father - Peter Francis; Set Decoration: Cathy Featherstone

Ma Rainey's Black Bottom -  Mark Ricker; Set Decoration: Karen O'Hara and Diana Stoughton

Mank - Donald Graham Burt; Set Decoration: Jan Pascale - Winner

News of the World - David Crank; Set Decoration: Elizabeth Keenan

Tenet - Nathan Crowley; Set Decoration: Kathy Lucas


Best Film Editing

The Father - Yorgos Lamprinos

Nomadland - Chloé Zhao

Promising Young Woman - Frédéric Thoraval

Sound of Metal - Mikkel E. G. Nielsen - Winner

The Trial of the Chicago 7 - Alan Baumgarte


Best Music (Original Score)

Da 5 Bloods - Terence Blanchard

Mank - Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross

Minari - Emile Mosseri

News of the World - James Newton Howard

Soul - Trent Reznor, Atticus Ross and Jon Batiste - Winner


Best Music Original Song

Fight For You - from Judas and the Black Messiah; Music by H.E.R. and Dernst Emile II; Lyric by H.E.R. and Tiara Thomas - Winner

Hear My Voice - from The Trial of the Chicago 7; Music by Daniel Pemberton; Lyric by Daniel Pemberton and Celeste Waite

Husavik - from Eurovision Song Contest: The Story of Fire Saga; Music and Lyric by Savan Kotecha, Fat Max Gsus and Rickard Göransson

Io Sì (Seen) - from The Life Ahead (La Vita Davanti a Se); Music by Diane Warren; Lyric by Diane Warren and Laura Pausini

Speak Now - from One Night in Miami...; Music and Lyric by Leslie Odom, Jr. and Sam Ashworth


Best Picture

"Nomadland" - Winner

"The Trial of the Chicago 7"


"Promising Young Woman"


"The Father"

"Sound of Metal"

"Judas and the Black Messiah"


Best Actress

Carey Mulligan - "Promising Young Woman"

Frances McDormand - "Nomadland" - Winner

Vanessa Kirby - "Pieces of a Woman"

Viola Davis - "Ma Rainey's Black Bottom"

Andra Day - "The United States vs. Billie Holiday"


Best Actor

Chadwick Boseman - "Ma Rainey's Black Bottom"

Anthony Hopkins - "The Father" - Winner

Riz Ahmed - "Sound of Metal"

Gary Oldman - "Mank"

Steven Yeun - "Minari"

Best Animated Featured Film


"Over the Moon"

"A Shaun the Sheep Movie: Farmageddon"

"Soul" - Winner


Regarding the order of the category, The Academy usually follows a similar order every year with no significant changes between editions. If they follow last year announcements, the order will be as follows (taking into account that in the 2021 edition Sound editing and mixing are merging merge into one category of Sound) 

Actor in a supporting role

Animated feature film

Animated short film

Original screenplay

Adapted screenplay

Live action short film

Production design

Costume design

Documentary feature

Documentary short subject

Actress in a supporting role

Best Sound


Film editing

Visual effects

Makeup and hairstyling

International feature film

Original score

Original song


Actor in a leading role

Actress in a leading role

Best motion picture

The Oscars Awards 2021 ceremony starts at 5 p.m. PT / 8 p.m. ET.

23 categories and 23 winners in the Oscars Awards 2021. Check who is getting the glory as soon as each new winner is announced in this live blog. Follow all the ceremony in our live feed to get the low down on all the stars.


To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?