NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINargentinaARGENTINAchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOperuPERUlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA

EURO 2020

Euro 2020: who are the coaches of each national team?

Meet all of the national team selectors at this year's UEFA European football championships, and find out the details about their respective careers.

Euro 2021: who are the coaches of each national team?

As always, the UEFA European Championships will bring together the best European football players representing their country. And they will also give a chance to many of the best football strategists to show their skills and knowledge.

EURO 2020 news:

Let's take a look at who's filling each of the respective dugouts...

Euro 2020: the team managers

Austria - Franco Foda (Germany) In October 2017, the Austrian Football federation announced that Franco Foda, the German manager with significant experience in coaching at the Austrian league, would become manager of the national team.

Belgium - Roberto Martínez (Spain) The Spanish coach Martínez signed as coach of the Belgium national team, succeeding Marc Wilmots on this post, almost five years ago.

Croatia - Zlatko Dalic (Croatia) The Croatian Football Federation named Dalić as the head coach of the Croatia national football team after a string of mediocre performances on the big stage. Upon arriving, Dalić announced that he would only remain head coach, if Croatia qualifies for the 2018 FIFA World Cup. Not only he managed to qualify his team for the World Cup in 2018, but he managed to lead them to the final game, where they lost to France.

Czech Republic - Jaroslav Šilhavý (Czech Republic) In September 2018, he became the head coach of the Czech national team, replacing Karel Jarolím in this position.

Denmark - Kasper Hjulmand (Denmark) In June 2019, it was announced that Hjulmand would replace Åge Hareide as manager of the Danish national football team when Hareide's contract expired after the UEFA Euro 2020 tournament. He holds a B.Sc. in sports specializing in coaching from the University of Copenhagen.

England - Gareth Southgate (England) He first managed the England under-21 team from 2013 to 2016 before becoming the England national team manager in 2016. In his first tournament as England manager, the 2018 FIFA World Cup, Southgate became only the third manager to reach a World Cup semi-final with the England team.

Finland - Markku Kanerva (Finland) Kanerva was permanently appointed as manager of the Finnish national team In December 2016 on a three-year contract. In November 2019, he managed his Finland team to qualification for the UEFA Euro 2020.

France - Didier Deschamps (France) Nine years ago, Deschamps was named the new manager of the French national team. He guided his team to the quarter-finals of the 2014 FIFA World Cup, the final of UEFA Euro 2016, and he won the final of the 2018 FIFA World Cup. After France's victory at the World Cup in Russia, Deschamps became the third man to win the World Cup both as a player and a manager.

Germany - Joachim Löw (Germany) is the head coach of the German national team, which he led to victory at the 2014 FIFA World Cup in Brazil and the 2017 FIFA Confederations Cup in Russia. In March 2021, Löw announced that he would resign from his position after Euro 2020.

Hungary - Marco Rossi (Italy) In June 2018, The Hungarian football federation announced that they would hire Rossi as the new manager. He replaced the Belgian Georges Leekens on the bench of the Hungarian squad.

Italy - Roberto Mancini (Italy) In May 2018, it was publicly declared that Mancini signed as manager of the Italy national team after taking over from the interim manager, Luigi Di Biagio. On 15 November 2019, with a 3–0 away win against Bosnia and Herzegovina, Mancini broke the old record held by Vittorio Pozzo, leading Italy to their tenth consecutive victory, and their record sixth straight away victory.

Netherlands - Frank de Boer (Netherlands) Dutch football manager is the current head coach of the Netherlands national team. Former defender and multiple national champion as a player and later as a coach at Ajax, Amsterdam.

North Macedonia - Igor Angelovski (North Macedonia) In late October 2015, Angelovski, former Macedonian, Slovenian, and Serbian league player, became the new manager of the Macedonia national the team and on this post is a successor to Ljubinko Drulović, former FC Porto winger.

Poland - Paulo Sousa (Portugal) is a Portuguese football manager and former professional player who played as a defensive midfielder, most successfully during the '90s at Juventus. He is the head coach of the Poland national team.

Portugal - Fernando Santos (Portugal) is a Portuguese football manager and former player who played as a defender. He is the Portugal national team manager. Santos won the last edition of the UEFA Championships held in France.

Russia - Stanislav Cherchesov (Russia) is a Russian football manager and former international footballer of Ossetian descent who played as a goalkeeper for the USSR and Russia.

Scotland - Steve Clarke (Scotland) is a Scottish professional football manager and former player (St. Miren, Chelsea), the Scotland national team manager since 2019

Slovakia - Štefan Tarkovič (Slovakia) is a Slovak football coach. He is currently the manager of Slovakia. In his career previously he managed the teams Žilina, Tatran Prešov and Košice.

Spain - Luis Enrique (Spain) Luis Enrique was named coach of the Spanish national team in July 2018, replacing former club and country teammate Fernando Hierro, who led the team at the World Cup in Russia.

Sweden - Janne Andersson (Sweden) Following Sweden's disappointing Euro 2016 performance, Andersson took over as the head coach of the Sweden national team after almost seven years of Erik Hamrén being in charge.

Switzerland - Vladimir Petković (Switzerland) Since his appointment to the national team spot in 2014, Petković has led the Swiss to round 16 on both the UEFA Euro 2016 in France and the 2018 FIFA World Cup in Russia.

Turkey - Şenol Güneş (Turkey) is a Turkish football manager and former player. His most notable achievements include coaching the Turkish national team to third place in the 2002 FIFA World Cup.

Ukraine - Andriy Shevchenko (Ukraine) is a former professional football player, former politician, and current football manager. He played as a striker for Dynamo Kyiv, Milan, Chelsea, and the Ukraine national team. In July 2016, shortly after the nation's elimination from UEFA Euro 2016, Shevchenko was appointed as Ukraine's head coach.

Wales - Ryan Giggs (Wales) was appointed as manager of the Wales national team in January 2018, succeeding Chris Coleman, who had left the role to take up the manager's position at Sunderland. Giggs successfully led Wales to qualify for Euro 2020, following a 2–0 win over Hungary in their final encounter in November 2019.


To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?