NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


The MLS team has not won the All-Star Game since 2015

The star-packed Major League Soccer will try to end their four-year losing streak in the 2021 All-Star Game by defeating Liga MX team at the Banc of California.

Estados UnidosUpdate:
The MLS team has not won the All-Star Game since 2015

On Tuesday night, The Major League Soccer team suffered a tough defeat against the Liga MX team in the All-Star Skills Challenge at the Banc of California Stadium. Eight players from each team went head-to-head in five competitions and it went down to the Crossbar Challenge to define the winner.

The Liga MX prevailed at the end

Both teams were tied at 24 in the Crossbar Challenge and Cruz Azul’s Jonathan Rodríguez was the hero of the night for the Liga MX. The Uruguayan striker shot a longball to hit the crossbar and give the victory to the players from the Mexican soccer league and celebrated with the approximately 5,000 fans that attended the event.

Now the MLS players will seek revenge in the main event, the 2021 All-Star Game, tonight at the Banc of California stadium. Also the MLS star-packed team will try to end their four-year losing streak in this event because the last time they took the victory was in 2015.

In that year they faced Tottenham Hotspur and the MLS squad defeated the Premier League side 2-1 at the Dick’s Sporting Goods Par in Kansas City. Kaká from Orlando City and David Villa from New York City FC scored for the home team and Harry Kane for the visiting side.

The All-Star Game started in 2005 and they have faced world class clubs like Manchester United, Chelsea, Bayern Munich, Real Madrid and Atlético Madrid. The MLS team has a record of 7W-3D-5L against their rivals since 2005 and the last time they lost 3-0 to Atlético Madrid in 2019.


To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?