When was the last time the Tampa Bay Buccaneers won a Super Bowl? How many have they won?

The Tampa Bay Buccaneers won their first Super Bowl championship in what is known as the “Gruden Bowl,” decades after their first Super Bowl victory in 2002.

When was the last time the Tampa Bay Buccaneers won a Super Bowl?
Mike Ehrmann AFP

The Tampa Bay Buccaneers, based in Tampa, Florida, are members of the NFC South division, and are one of only two NFL teams unbeaten in more than one Super Bowl appearances, joining the Baltimore Ravens.

For most of their first two decades, the Bucs were considered a team with recurring losses; they suffered a losing streak of 26 consecutive games. From 1983 to 1996, Tampa Bay also lost for 14 straight seasons.

Despite their early struggles, the Bucs became the first expansion team post the AFL-NFL merger to win a division title and a playoff game by their fourth season, and host a conference championship. A few decades later, the Bucs won their first Super Bowl in 2002, and just a year ago, they repeated their victory winning Super Bowl LV

Super Bowl XXXVII: “Gruden Bowl”

In the 2002-2003 season, Tampa Bay won its first championship in Super Bowl XXXVI when they defeated AFC champion, the Oakland Raiders 48-21. This championship game was the last to be played in January, with the previous, XXXVI, taking place in February following 9/11 related postponements, and the subsequent played in February permanently.

This Super Bowl game was also the first of its kind for other reasons: the NFL’s number one-ranked offense (Raiders) played against the NFL’s number one-ranked defense (Bucs). And because both teams shared the same head coach, Jon Gruden, the game was referred to by some as the “Gruden Bowl.” Gruden was with the Raiders from 1998-2001, and then traded to become Tampa Bay’s coach in 2002.

Gruden’s new team” posted a 12-4 regular season record making their first Super Bowl appearance, while “Gruden’s old team” posted an 11-5 regular season, proceeding to their fifth Super Bowl appearance.

It is worthy to note that some NFL fans referred to the Super Bowl game between the Raiders and the Buccaneers as “Pirate Bowl”, because of both their pirate-related names

Super Bowl LV with Tom Brady

The Buccaneers won their second Super Bowl title when they defeated the Kansas City Chiefs, 31-9 in Super Bowl LV.

Their Super Bowl LV win was the team's eighth straight victory, extending a franchise record. With head coach Bruce Arians at the helm, former Patriots quarterback Tom Brady joining the team and a handful of other key players, the Bucs defeated Patrick Mahomes and the Chiefs in the very first matchup between the NFL’s top two passing attacks.

Tampa Bay won their first four regular-season games before doubling that with another four wins in the postseason, finishing with a 15-5 record, the most victories in a single season.

Furthermore, the Bucs became the fifth NFL team to win the SuperBowl a year following a losing record, joining the Eagles, 2001 Patriots, 1999 St. Louis Rams and the 1981 San Francisco 49ers.

Concurrent to their setbacks outside of their Super Bowl victories, the Buccaneers hold the NFL's lowest win-loss percentage at .401.