Los 40 USA
Sign in to commentAPP
spainSPAINchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


USMNT ace Christian Pulisic has more goals than Mexico’s strikers

The Chelsea playmaker scored a hat-trick against Panama and he now tallies five goals in the World Cup qualifying campaign in CONCACAF.

Estados Unidos
USMNT ace Christian Pulisic has more goals than Mexico’s strikers
Julio AguilarAFP

Christian Pulisic led the United States to defeat Panama on Sunday with a hat-trick and an assist. Now, the USMNT is on the brink of securing a spot in the 2022 FIFA World Cup with one game left in the round-robin tournament.

With his exhibition over the weekend, the 23-year-old tallied five goals in the World Cup qualifiers in CONCACAF, more than any Mexican striker in 13 match days. Christian Pulisic has helped the USMNT score 21 goals so far this tournament with goals and assists, while Mexico tallies 15 in the same amount of games.

Mexico has struggled to score goals

The three constant strikers for the Mexican national team during the round-robin tournament have been Raúl Jiménez, Hirving Lozano and Jesús Tecatito Corona. The three strikers combined have scored a total of four goals, one less than Christian Pulisic with the United States.

With one game left in the round-robin tournament, Pulisic could increase his record and help the United States return to a World Cup after not qualifying in 2018. The tides have turned in CONCACAF with the USMNT and Canada improving their level and surpassing Mexico in the qualifiers.

Goals scored by Mexico in qualifiers

Raúl Jiménez (2), Alexis Vega (2), Henry Martin (2), Héctor Herrera (1), Sebastián Córdova ( 1), Héctor Moreno (1), Hirving Lozano (1), Jesús Corona (1), Orbelín Pineda (1), Rogelio Funes Mori (1), Edson Álvarez (1) and Jorge Sánchez (1).

Goals scored by the USMNT in qualifiers

Christian Pulisic (5), Ricardo Pepi (3), Antonee Robinson (2), Weston McKennie (2), Brenden Aaronson (2), Sergiño Dest (1), Walker Zimmerman (1), Jesús Ferreira (1), Cristián Roldán (1), Sebastian Lletget (1), Paul Arriola (1) and Timothy Weah (1).