Los 40 USA
Sign in to commentAPP
spainSPAINchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


K-pop teen group NewJeans: Everything you need to know about the members, music and new songs

The five-member girl group take their inspiration from 90s pop aesthetics and have found huge commercial success this year.

K-pop teen group NewJeans: Everything you need to know about the members, music and new songs

Over the past 12 months K-pop band NewJeans have risen to the very top and became one of last year’s fastest-rising artists.

They have racked up more than a billion streams on Spotify, becoming the fastest K-pop group to reach that figure. They won the Hot Rookie Award at The-K Billboard Awards in 2022 and were placed in Forbes’ 30 Under 30 list for Asia.

Here’s everything you need to know about NewJeans...

NewJeans members

The group is comprised of five Korean girls aged between 15 and 19: Minji, Hanni, Danielle, Haerin, and Hyein.

They were brought together by ADOR, one of the biggest companies in Seoul’s thriving entertainment industry and are a part of HYBE Corp. The band’s formation was overseen by K-pop veteran Min Hee-Jin who has also been involved in bands like Girls’ Generation in the past.

NewJeans number one songs

Despite having been on the scene for little over a year, NewJeans have already enjoyed huge success in their homeland of South Korea. Their first single ‘Attention’ reached number one in the Circle Digital Chart, Korea’s record industry chart.

It was the release of the music video for ‘Attention’ that set them on a route for stardom. The video for their debut single dropped on 22 July 2022 and the five-piece group have not looked back since.

“I knew that it would be a date of excitement for the rest of my life,” NewJeans member Minji told Rolling Stones magazine in a recent interview. “I was so happy, and nervous, too.”

Following that success ‘Ditto’ and ‘OMG’ also reached top spot, while ‘Hype Boy’ made it to number two.

NewJeans ETA controversy

Last Sunday NewJeans released their latest musical offering, a teaser for an upcoming song entitled ‘ETA’. It is thought that the song will be one of three tracks on the soon-to-be-released ‘Get Up’.

For listeners in the English-speaking world, the term ETA is an abbreviation of the phrase ‘estimated time of arrival’. However for Spanish-minded supports of NewJeans the initials have much more sinister connotations.

A Basque separatist group named ETA was linked to a number of attacks in Spain from 1968 to 2010.

NewJeans album release date and tracklist

After the success of their eponymous debut album released last August, K-pop fans have been eagerly anticipating their next full-length released.

On 18 June 2023 the group’s record label ADOR offered a first look at the new album, and it lives up to the aesthetic flourishes that made them a viral sensation. The artwork features the girls as Powerpuff Girl characters.

The new album ‘Get Up’ will be released on 7 July. The six-song album will include the following tracks

New Jeans

Super Shy


Cool With You

Get Up