NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINargentinaARGENTINAchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOperuPERUlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


Arsenal clean up at the London Football Awards

There were four awards for the Premier League leaders while Chelsea dominated the women’s categories after their WSL triumph last season.

Saka and Odegaard win at London Football Awards

Arsenal dominated the London Football Awards on Monday evening, with club captain Martin Odegaard named Premier League Player of the Year.

Other Arsenal representation came from Manager of the Year Mikel Arteta, Young Player of the Year Bukayo Saka, and Goalkeeper of the Year Aaron Ramsdale. Recently-retired Mark Noble received the Outstanding Contribution to London Football award to mark his extraordinary 18-year career with West Ham United.

In accepting his award, Odegaard said: “It’s great to see the club being recognised with all the awards. I think it shows how far we’ve come as a club and what we’re doing this year is very special.”

“I just want to share this with the whole team”, he added.

The Norwegian beat off fellow Arsenal star Saka, as well as Tottenham Hotspurs striker Harry Kane, Brentford’s Ivan Toney and Aleksandar Mitrovic of Fulham, to win the coveted award.

Chelsea were the big winners in the women’s categories

The two main women’s awards were won by members of the Chelsea side that won the title in last season’s Women’s Super League. Chelsea forward Sam Kerr was named Women’s Player of the Year while teammate Lauren James picked up the award for Women’s Young Player of the Year.

Kerr praised those around her for helping her make it to the top: “Thank you to all my teammates, coaches, everyone. Everyone in this room knows you don’t win an award without a million people helping you.”

There was also representation for the red corner of London as Arsenal’s Leah Williamson and Beth Mead collected the Power of Football Award. This new award was introduced to mark outstanding work within the game and was awarded to the Lionesses squad for their inspirational achievements in lifting England’s first major trophy since 1966.

In reference to the upcoming World Cup in New Zealand this summer, Williamson promised: “We’ll continue to do what we’re doing and maybe add another one in the summer!”

The annual London Football Awards event celebrates the best footballing achievements from the capital over the previous 12 months and raises money for the Willow Foundation.


To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?