Gaming Club
Sign in to comment

The Game Awards

All the GOTY winners from The Game Awards

We check the list of all the games that have won the GOTY (Game of the Year) award at The Game Awards, Geoff Keighley’s gala that gathers the votes of journalists from around the world.

The Game Awards

At the end of the year, every videogame magazine hands out their own awards to the best and the brightest of the release season. And between the awards, it is rare that there is not one award above all others, the Game of the Year, the GOTY.

But as in other artistic disciplines, one award eventually becomes more important than the others. In movies it would be the Oscars, in comics, it would be the Eisner, and in music, it would be the Grammy. It would be the Nobel Prize in literature, and in television, the Emmy Awards. In the case of video games, it would be the GOTY, presented at The Game Awards, Geoff Keighley’s gala.

On the one hand, it is the one with the biggest impact (it attracts an audience of millions). On the other hand, it is voted for by accredited journalists from all over the world. In fact, it is the reference award and the list of winners summarizes the comings and goings of the industry in its short history. And so today we are going to take a look at how the list of winners has evolved over the years.

See all GOTY winners from The Game Awards

These are all the games that won the GOTY award at The Game Awards, although let’s remember that Geoff Keighley’s gala was called Spike VGX / Spike VGA (from Video Game Awards) until 2014.

  • 2003 - Madden NFL 2004
  • 2004 - GTA San Andreas
  • 2005 - Resident Evil 5
  • 2006 - The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion
  • 2007 - Bioshock
  • 2008 - Grand Theft Auto IV
  • 2009 - Uncharted 2: Among Thieves
  • 2010 - Red Dead Redemption
  • 2011 - The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim
  • 2012 - The Walking Dead
  • 2013 - Grand Theft Auto V
  • 2014 - Dragon Age: Inquisition
  • 2015 - The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt
  • 2016 - Overwatch
  • 2017 - The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild
  • 2018 - God of War
  • 2019 - Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice
  • 2020 - The Last of Us Parte II
  • 2021 - It Takes Two
  • 2022 - Elden Ring

The Game Awards 2023 Gala will take place next Thursday, December 7th at the Peacock Theater in Los Angeles, California. The list of nominees has been announced, and of course you can already vote for your favorites. A final battle where The Legend of Zelda: Tears of the Kingdom, Alan Wake II and Baldur’s Gate III are positioned as the favorites of the night, where anyone can emerge victorious with the most important award of the night.

All you need to know about GOTY 2023 and The Game Awards gala