Gaming Club
Sign in to comment


New Armored Core 6 Trailer Gives Us a Reason to Exist and Explains the Game’s Story

From Software and Miyazaki return to the saga of their love with Armored Core VI: Fires of Rubicon, releasing a new trailer focusing on the story.

Armored Core 6

Bandai Namco has just released a new video of Armored Core VI: Fires of Rubicon, which focuses on the story of the game for which there is less and less time left (we remind you that it comes out this coming August 25 on PS5, PS4, both Xbox and PC). As the slogan says: “621... We’ll give you a reason to exist. Let’s get to work”.

Is it necessary to play the previous ones to understand the story?

According to Masaru Yamamura, no, you don’t need to have any background. The game’s director (and who also directed Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice) has confirmed in an interview for IGN that we are facing “a completely new story”. These were his words: “We’d like to think of this as a completely fresh new story. There are no direct links with the previous games in terms of continuing story. This is a brand-new setting and a brand-new story for players to enjoy.”

This decision inaugurated the fourth timeline of the Armored Core saga, the fourth reboot in its history. United by a lore as deep as that of the Soulsborne (from which From Software has assuredly distanced itself), the previous ones were divided as follows:

First timeline

  • Armored Core
  • Armored Core Project Phantasma
  • Armored Core: Master of Arena
  • Armored Core 2
  • Armored Core 2: Another Age

Second timeline

  1. Armored Core 3
  2. Silent Line: Amored Core
  3. Armored Core: Nexus
  4. Armored Core: Nine Breaker
  5. Armored Core: The Last Raven

Third timeline

  1. Armored Core 4
  2. Armored Core For Answer
  3. Armored Core 5
  4. Armored Core Veredict Day

Fourth timeline

  • Amored Core VI: Fires of Rubicon