NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINargentinaARGENTINAchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOperuPERUlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


Which NBA players currently wear no. 6 on their jerseys? Will they have to change it?

After over 250 players have worn No. 6. in NBA history, the NBA honors Bill Russell by retiring his jersey number.

LeBron James en un partido de los Lakers.
Jason Miller

The NBA has announced a retirement of the No. 6 jersey across the league in honor of the legendary NBA champion and civil rights pioneer Bill Russell, who passed away on 31st July at the age of 88.

Nobody has worn No. 6 for the Boston Celtics, whom Russell both played for his whole career and coached, since the legend’s final season, 1968-69. The Celtics retired Russell’s No. 6 in 1972.

The league’s decision raised many questions, with the most important one being what happens to players that already wear No. 6 and will they be forced to change their jersey number. Additionally, a very notable player happened to be wearing that number, which doubled-up the league-wide curiosity.

Luckily, LeBron James, who changed to No. 6 from No. 23 at the start of the 2021-22 season, will not have to change his jersey number. And the same goes to the 19 players who also hold the number, including Kristaps Porzingis, Alex Caruso, Lou Williams, Montrezl Harrell, Quentin Grimes.

However, no new NBA player will be issued the no. 6 ever again.

Related: There was really no one like Bill Russell

Let’s take a look at the 19 players who currently wear the No. 6 jersey:

List of NBA Players who currently Wear No. 6 Jersey

  • LeBron James (Los Angeles Lakers)
  • Alex Caruso (Chicago Bulls)
  • Kristaps Porzingis (Washington Wizards)
  • Lou Williams (Atlanta Hawks | Free agent)
  • Lance Stephenson (Indiana Pacers)
  • Nickeil Alexander-Walker (Utah Jazz)
  • Hamidou Diallo (Detroit Pistons)
  • Bryn Forbes (Denver Nuggets | Signed with Minnesota in offseason)
  • Quentin Grimes (New York Knicks)
  • Jalen McDaniels (Charlotte Hornets)
  • Jordan McLaughlin (Minnesota Timberwolves)
  • Kenyon Martin Jr. (Houston Rockets)
  • Moses Brown (Cleveland Cavaliers | Free agent)
  • David Duke Jr. (Brooklyn Nets | Free agent )
  • Melvin Frazier (Oklahoma City Thunder | Free agent)
  • Keon Johnson (Portland Trail Blazers)

To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?