NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


When was the last time the Philadelphia Eagles won the Super Bowl?

The Eagles will take on the Chiefs at Super Bowl LVII - their fourth appearance since the franchise was founded 89 years ago.

The Eagles will take on the Chiefs at Super Bowl LVII - their fourth appearance since the franchise was founded 89 years ago.

Follow the Super Bowl LVII between the Chiefs and the Eagles LIVE on

The Philadelphia Eagles are gearing up for their showdown with the Kansas City Chiefs at Super Bowl LVII - a gilt-edged opportunity to land their fifth championship. Three of those championship wins came in the pre-Super Bowl era, which began in 1966. The Birds were crowned NFL champions in 1948, 1949 and 1960 when the competition featured playoffs followed by the Championship Game.

Philadelphia Eagles NFL Championship triumphs

  • 1948 Chicago Cardinals 0-7 Philadelphia Eagles (Shibe Park, Philadelphia)
  • 1949 Philadelphia Eagles 14-0 Los Angeles Rams (L.A. Memorial Coliseum)
  • 1960 Green Bay Packers 13-17 Philadelphia Eagles (Franklin Field, Philadelphia)

But the Eagles have reached the Super Bowl four times since the format was changed. Out of their three previous appearances, they emerged victorious and lifted the trophy just once. Their first Super Bowl appearance was at the XV edition in January 1981. The Eagles were the much-fancied favourites going into the game but suffered a 27-10 defeat to the Oakland Raiders - the first wild card team to clinch the title.

It would be almost a quarter of a century before they were in the same position. At Super Bowl XXXIX in February 2005, the Eagles were pipped to the title by the New England Patriots, losing 24-21 in Jacksonville.

You might also enjoy

They managed to get their revenge in a return matchup with the Patriots at Super Bowl LII, scoring a 41-33 win over the defending champions at US Bank Stadium in Minneapolis in spite of going into the game as underdogs. QB Nick Foles picked up the MVP award, throwing for 373 yards and three scores while catching a touchdown pass in one of the most memorable moves in Super Bowl history.

Philadelphia Eagles Super Bowl appearances

  • Super Bowl XV Oakland Raiders 27-10 Philadelphia Eagles
  • Super Bowl XXXIX New England Patriots 24-21 Philadelphia Eagles
  • Super Bowl LII Philadelphia Eagles 41-33 New England Patriots
  • Super Bowl LVII Philadelphia Eagles vs Kansas City Chiefs

To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?