Los 40 USA
NewslettersSign in to commentAPP
spainSPAINchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


Who won the MVP award at Super Bowl 2024?

With Super Bowl LVIII going to overtime, there were several key players who kept both teams in the game. But one stood out over all others.

LAS VEGAS, NEVADA - FEBRUARY 11: Patrick Mahomes #15 of the Kansas City Chiefs celebrates after defeating the San Francisco 49ers 25-22 in overtime during Super Bowl LVIII at Allegiant Stadium on February 11, 2024 in Las Vegas, Nevada.   Rob Carr/Getty Images/AFP (Photo by Rob Carr / GETTY IMAGES NORTH AMERICA / Getty Images via AFP)

The Super Bowl MVP is an award that is among the most coveted in the world. Just to be on the team that gets there is an accomplishment. To be a member of the team that wins puts you in an even more select club. But to be singled out as the one player who was valued above all others? Priceless.

Player contracts are purposely written with incentives in them and each incentive is progressively more valuable. The Super Bowl MVP award is the top incentive of the pile.

In Super Bowl LVIII, the award was given to Kansas City Chiefs quarterback Patrick Mahomes. This was the third time that Mahomes has won the award, having taken it home last year as well as in 2020. This makes Mahomes one of only six players in NFL history to have won it more than once, equalling Joe Montana. Only Tom Brady has won it more times with five wins.

While the game hinges on many players, with Travis Kelce making big plays and Harrison Butker setting a new Super Bowl record with his 57 yard field goal to keep the Chiefs in the hunt, it was Mahomes who came through time and time again.