Los 40 USA
NewslettersSign in to commentAPP
spainSPAINchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA

other sports

LIV Golf Invitational Boston behind the numbers of the 48-man field

Everything you need to know about the 48-man field at the LIV Golf Invitational Boston this weekend.

Everything you need to know about the 48-man field at the LIV Golf Invitational Boston this weekend.
Chris Trotman/LIV GolfGetty

As the first round of the LIV Golf invitational begins on Friday, we bring you the notes and numbers on the 48-man field going into the league’s fourth ‘regular season’ event.

Six players are making their LIV Golf debuts at The International, including the 2022 reigning Open champion, Cameron Smith, who recently switched over to LIV. World No. 19 Joaquin Niemann, Marc Leishman, and India’s pro Anirban Lahiri, who have each competed at the 2021 Olympic Games in Tokyo, will also be joining the field. That adds up to 13 Olympians in the LIV Golf Invitational Boston, more than a quarter of the 48-man field.


Olympians playing in LIV Golf Boston

  • Abraham Ancer, Mexico
  • Paul Casey, Great Britain
  • Sergio Garcia, Spain
  • Martin Kaymer, Germany
  • Anirban Lahiri, India
  • Marc Leishman, Australia
  • Joaquin Niemann, Chile
  • Carlos Ortiz, Mexico
  • Patrick Reed, USA
  • Cameron Smith, Australia
  • Henrik Stenson, Sweden
  • Scott Vincent, Zimbabwe
  • Bernd Wiesberger, Austria

With Smith’s addition to the field, there will be seven no. 1 ranked players in their respective countries participating in Massachusetts this weekend:

Australia: Cameron Smith (No. 2 world) – Highest-ranked Aussie in the last 5 years.

Chile: Joaquin Niemann (No. 19 world) – who won seven of his nine victories on the Chilean Tour.

Thailand: Sadom Kaewkanjana (No. 91 world) – who won six of his eight career wins in his home country.

India: Anirban Lahiri (No. 92 world) – India’s top-ranked pro

Mexico: Abraham Ancer (No. 24 world) – No other Mexican golfer has won a World Golf Championships event (2021)

South Africa: Louis Oosthuizen (No. 31 world) – Only the fourth South African to win the Open Championship (2010).

Zimbabwe: Scott Vincent (No. 81 world) – One of just five athletes from Zimbabwe to compete in the Tokyo Olympics in 2021.

A total of 13 players in their 20s will play at the three-round event with no cuts- the youngest being Eugenio Chacarra (22). Only one player participating is in his 50s, Phil Mickelson, in addition to 22 players in their 30s, and 12 in their 40s.

By the numbers

6 – Players making their LIV Golf debuts in Boston: Harold Varner III, Anirban Lahiri, Marc Leishman, Joaquin Niemann, Cameron Smith, Cameron Tringale4 – Former world No. 1s (Johnson, Kaymer, B. Koepka, Westwood)

5 – NCAA Division I individual champions (DeChambeau, Howell III, Mickelson, Pettit, Wolff)

5 – NCAA Division I individual champions (DeChambeau, Howell III, Mickelson, Pettit, Wolff)

7 – Players currently ranked No. 1 among their countrymen

11 – Players with 500 or more professional starts (Bland, Casey, Garcia, Howell, Mickelson, Na, Perez, Poulter, Schwartzel, Stenson, Westwood)

12 – Major champions (DeChambeau, Garcia, Johnson, Kaymer, B. Koepka, McDowell, Mickelson, Oosthuizen, Reed, Schwartzel, Smith, Stenson)

12 – Number of majors won in the last 26 major championships

13 – Top 50 players of the world rankings

13 – Olympians

14 – Countries represented (USA 19, England 6, Australia 5, South Africa 4, Spain 3, Mexico 2, Thailand 2, Austria 1, Chile 1, Germany 1, India 1, Northern Ireland 1, Sweden 1, Zimbabwe 1)

20 – Players with 10 or more professional wins (Casey 21, DeChambeau 10, Garcia 36, Grace 15, Harding 11, Johnson 28, Kaymer 23, B. Koepka 15, Kokrak 11, Lahiri 18, Leishman 13, McDowell 16, Mickelson 57, Norris 12, Oosthuizen 20, Poulter 19, Schwartzel 16, Stenson 22, Westwood 44, Wiesberger 13)

22 – Combined majors won (7 Masters, 6 U.S. Opens, 5 PGA Championships, 4 Open Championships)

24 – Players inside the top 100 of the world rankings

507 – Cumulative professional wins for the 48-man field