NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINargentinaARGENTINAchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOperuPERUlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


LIV International Series: Who are the golfers suspended by the PGA Tour? Complete list

Why did the PGA Tour suspend 17 golfers, including Phil Mickelson? And who was suspended? Full list

Why did the PGA Tour suspend 17 golfers, including Phil Mickelson? And who was suspended?

The PGA Tour announced early Thursday that any current and future players in the LIV Golf Invitational Series are indefinitely suspended.

According to the memo released, the suspended players “did not receive the necessary conflicting event and media rights release — or did not apply for releases at all,”

Phil Mickelson, Sergio Garcia, Dustin Johnson, Ian Poulter and Lee Westwood are among these players, following their participation in the controversial Saudi-funded LIV International Golf Series.

The memo also reads that PGA Tour will suspend any future LIV series players and will not be eligible to compete in the Presidents Cup in September; Bryson DeChambeau is among those who have committed to the second event in Oregon, June 30-July 2.

PGA Tour vs LIV Golf

Jay Monahan, commissioner of the PGA Tour, said the players in question had “decided to turn their backs on the PGA Tour by willfully violating a regulation” and that “the same fate holds true for any other players who participate in future Saudi Golf League events in violation of our regulations”.

He added that “These players have made their choice for their own financial-based reasons. But they can’t demand the same PGA TOUR membership benefits, considerations, opportunities and platform as you. That expectation disrespects you, our fans and our partners.”

LIV Golf responds with a slam

LIV Golf immediately replied with a statement that read: “Today’s announcement by the PGA Tour is vindictive and it deepens the divide between the Tour and its members.

It’s troubling that the Tour, an organization dedicated to creating opportunities for golfers to play the game, is the entity blocking golfers from playing.”

The LIV event in England is the first of eight scheduled tournaments. Five of those are to take place in the United States, with two courses owned by former U.S. President Donald Trump.

Here is the list of players suspended from the tour. The asterisks indicate players who have already told the PGA Tour that they’re resigning their memberships. Here is the full internal memo.

See also:

List of golfers suspended by the PGA Tour

  • Sergio Garcia*
  • Talor Gooch
  • Branden Grace*
  • Dustin Johnson*
  • Matt Jones
  • Martin Kaymer*
  • Graeme McDowell*
  • Phil Mickelson
  • Kevin Na*
  • Andy Ogletree
  • Louis Oosthuizen*
  • Turk Pettit*
  • Ian Poulter
  • Charl Schwartzel*
  • Hudson Swafford
  • Peter Uihlein
  • Lee Westwood*

To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?