Los 40 USA
Sign in to commentAPP
spainSPAINchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


F1 2023: calendar, races, circuits, drivers, cars and teams of the Formula 1 World Championship

With the 2022 Formula 1 season behind us, it’s time to focus on the 2023 season that’s about to start and we’ll be the first to tell you, it’s going to be quite a ride.

With the 2022 Formula 1 season behind us, it’s time to focus on the 2023 season that’s about to start and we’ll be the first to tell you, it’s going to be quite a ride.
Peter FoxGetty

Having made some of the biggest changes to technical regulations that we’ve seen in years, the 2023 F1 season promises to be as intriguing as it is exciting. From key driver market alterations to the inclusion of new tracks, we’ve got old faces in new places and a continually expanding calendar to look at. So, with no further ado let’s get into it.

The Drivers & Teams

Perhaps the biggest move we saw at the end of the 2022 season, was the retirement of Sebastian Vettel, followed by Fernando Alonso’s move to Aston Martin to link up with Lance Stroll. Of course, that left a vacancy at Alpine which led the team to go for Pierre Gasly from AlphaTauri, meaning we’ve now got a French connection which includes Esteban Ocon. All of this of course, only came after the contract debacle which saw Oscar Piastri jump to McLaren to replace Daniel Ricciardo who had been shown the door.

There was also another surprising move which saw AlphaTauri go for Formula E champion, Nyck de Vries, who will now be making his full F1 debut in 2023. The Dutchman will be racing alongside Yuki Tsunoda. As for Williams, the British team comes into the season having retained Alex Albon, while replacing Nicholas Latifi with the rookie, Logan Sargeant. Haas has replaced Mick Schumacher - now Mercedes’ reserve driver - with Nico Hulkenber who will have Kevin Magnussen alongside him. Then, we’ve got Alfa Romeo who will go with what they had in Valtteri Bottas and Zhou Guanyu, after changing their entire team last season. Last but not least, we’ve got the top three: F1 world champion Red Bull who will once again will be going with Max Verstappen and Sergio Perez, Ferrari who have maintained Charles Leclerc and Carlos Sainz and of course Mercedes who will be sticking with Lewis Hamilton and George Russell. With no further ado, here’s a look at the lineup:

TeamDriver 1Driver 2
Red Bull RacingMax VerstappenSergio Perez
FerrariCharles LeclercCarlos Sainz
MercedesLewis HamiltonGeorge Russell
AlpineEsteban OconPierre Gasly
McLarenLando NorrisOscar Piastri
Alfa RomeoValtteri BottasZhou Guanyu
Aston MartinLance StrollFernando Alonso
Haas F1 TeamKevin MagnussenNico Hulkenberg
Alpha TauriYuki TsunodaNyck de Vries
WilliamsAlex AlbonLogan Sargeant

The 2023 F1 Schedule

In 2023, F1 will hold its biggest-ever calendar with a total of 23 races scheduled, which is one more than we saw in 2022. It’s worth mentioning that last season was initially due to be 23, but the decision was taken to cancel the Russian GP. There is also the Chinese GP which continues to be put on hold due to ongoing covid-19 restrictions. This year will also see the return of the Qatar GP, which was not held last year due to the FIFA World Cup and of course the introduction of the highly anticipated Las Vegas GP. Yes, F1 has been in Las Vegas before - Caesars Palace in 1981-82 - but this is a different plate of food altogether. The purpose-built complex will see drivers navigating around the city’s most iconic locations.

We should also tell you that there have been a few changes to the 2023 schedule. For starters, the Azerbaijan GP will take place in early spring rather than June when it was held in the past. There is also the Belgian GP, which has been moved to August in order to avoid a triple-header with the Dutch and Italian rounds that occur in late summer. Lastly, there will be six sprint races this year, as opposed to the three that we saw in the last two seasons. There has been no official word on which events will be hosting the changed format. With that, here’s the full schedule:

Bahrain GPSakhirMarch 5th
Saudi Arabian GPJeddahMarch 19th
Australian GPMelbourneApril 2nd
Azerbaijan GPBakuApril 30th
Miami GPMiamiMay 7th
Emilia Romagna GPImolaMay 21st
Monaco GPMonacoMay 28th
Spanish GPBarcelonaJune 4th
Canadian GPMontrealJune 18th
Austrian GPRed Bull RingJuly 2nd
British GPSilverstoneJuly 9th
Hungarian GPHungaroringJuly 23rd
Belgium GPSpa-FrancorchampsJuly 30th
Dutch GPZandvoortAugust 27th
Italian GPMonzaSeptember 3rd
Singapore GPSingaporeSeptember 17th
Japanese GPSuzukaSeptember 24th
Qatar GPLusailOctober 8th
United States GPCOTAOctober 22nd
Mexican GPMexico CityOctober 29th
Brazilian GPInterlagosNovember 5th
Las Vegas GPLas VegasNovember 18th
Abu Dhabi GPYas MarinaNovember 26th