NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINargentinaARGENTINAchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOperuPERUlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA

WORLD CUP 2022

Almada: “I was at the dentist and they called me... You’re going to the World Cup!”

Thiago Almada and Ángel Correa have arrived in Qatar and have now joined up with the rest of the squad.

Doha (Qatar)Update:
Almada: “I was at the dentist and they called me... You’re going to the World Cup!”
@ATLUTDTwitter

Injury struck Lionel Scaloni’s Argentina squad during the final week before the World Cup, and it fell to Thiago Almada and Ángel Correa, to fly into Doha to join the albiceleste on their journey in Qatar. Upon their arrival, they expressed the surprise that they felt on being called up after the injuries to Joaquín Correa and Nico González: “I was at the dentist and they called me... you’re going to the World Cup! It was a feeling of immense joy, I’m ready to give whatever it takes”, said ex-Vélez midfielder Almada, and one of the many young, Argentinian players with a bright future ahead.

From misery to elation for Correa

Atlético Madrid’s Ángel Correa was finally called up after the tremendous disappointment finding himself off Lionel Scaloni’s original 26-man list. “I was with Thiago in Argentina. We had a bit of a kick-about and I beat him. It’s a bit hot”, he joked upon his arrival in Doha.

With the addition of both players, Scaloni hopes he won’t have any more injury problems between now and the start of the tournament. Cuti Romero and Papu Gómez are improving. The player who did not participate in the last training session was Leo Messi, although no one doubts that he will play in Argentina’s opening against Saudi Arabia on Tuesday.

Argentina’s Group Stage fixtures

  • 22 November: Lusail Stadium: Argentina-Saudi Arabia 08:00 am ET /05:00 am PT
  • 22 November: Stadium 974: Mexico-Poland 02:00 pm ET /11:00 am PT
  • 26 November: Education City Stadium: Poland-Saudi Arabia 05:00 am ET /02:00 am PT
  • 26 November: Lusail Stadium: Argentina-Mexico 2:00 pm ET /11:00 am PT
  • 30 November: Stadium 974: Poland-Argentina 2:00 pm ET /11:00 am PT
  • 30 November: Lusail: Saudi Arabia-Mexico 2:00 pm ET /11:00 am PT