Los 40 USA
Sign in to commentAPP
spainSPAINchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


How much prize money will the third and fourth-place teams at the Qatar 2022 World Cup receive?

The third and fourth-place finishers in Qatar will receive similar sums of money for their World Cup efforts.

Morocco's coach Walid Regragui gives a press conference at the Qatar National Convention Center (QNCC) in Doha on December 16, 2022, on the eve of the Qatar 2022 World Cup third place football match between Croatia and Morocco. (Photo by KARIM JAAFAR / AFP)

Croatia and Morocco go head-to-head in the 2022 World Cup third-place play-off in Qatar on Saturday.

The teams come into this one disappointed after losing out to Argentina and France in the semi-finals but get a final crack to claim third place.

After impressive tournaments, both sides can be proud of their achievements in Qatar, regardless of the outcome in the third-place play-off.

See also:

How much money will the third-place play-off winners receive?

The World Cup 2022 third-place winners will receive $27 million in prize earnings. Whoever loses on Saturday will finish fourth and pick up $25 million.

World Cup 2022 prize money breakdown

  • Position Prize money (USD)
  • Winner: $42m
  • Runner-up: $30m
  • Third place: $27m
  • Fourth place: $25m
  • Quarter-final: $17m
  • Last 16: $13m
  • Group stage: $9m

Competing at the 2022 World Cup earns each nation $1.5 million. As countries advanced through the final stages, the prize money on offer increased.

We’ll be building up to the match between Croatia and Morocco ahead of kickoff and we’ll also have live text coverage of what is the penultimate 2022 World Cup fixture.