Los 40 USA
Sign in to commentAPP
spainSPAINchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


Coincidences that have Argentina fans dreaming of 2022 World Cup glory

A series of coincidences at this World Cup tally up (loosley) with those when Argentina won the World Cup in 1986.

**  FILE  ** Argentina's Diego Maradona, holding up the trophy, is carried on shoulders as he celebrates at the end of the World Cup soccer final game against West Germany at the Atzeca Stadium, in Mexico City, in this June 29, 1986, file photo. Argentina won 3-2. Maradona and Argentinean coach Carlos Bilardo have been asked to lead Argentina by Julio Grondona, head of the Argentine Football Association, Tuesday, Oct. 28, 2008. (AP Photo/Carlo Fumagalli, file)

Two of the most used phrases by Argentinian fans currently are “Anulo Mufa” (I cancel the jinx) and the other is “Elijo Creer” (I choose to believe). Albiceleste supporters have been looking for coincidences or similarities to to other World Cups where Argentina won the trophy (1978 and 1986) and have discovered these sources of motivation.

 Fans of Argentina celebrate after a goal
Full screen
Fans of Argentina celebrate after a goal Anadolu AgencyGetty

Australia, eliminated by the champions in 2006:

The side from Oceania who now play in the AFC Confederation have only progressed from the group stage once and that was in 2006. They were eliminated from the German World Cup by Italy, who were later crowned champions. In 2022 Argentina saw off the Socceroos in the Round of 16...

 Argentina v Australia
Full screen
Argentina v AustraliaNurPhotoGetty

Canada and Morocco, from ‘86 to 2022:

Canada’s last World Cup appearance was in 1986 when Argentina were crowned and in Mexico the Maple Leafs lost all three matches. Morocco have only progressed from the group stage twice ...in 1986 and 2022.

Spain’s route to World Cup winners in South Africa 2010:

No-one expected Argentina to lose to Saudi Arabia in the Albiceleste’s 2022 World Cup debut but many have cited Spain’s path to World Cup glory in 2010 after Vicente del Bosque’s side lost their opening game (1-0 to Switzerland) and went onto be crowned winners after a 1-0 over Netherlands in Johannesburg.

Andres Iniesta holds the World Cup trophy after the 2010 World Cup final
Full screen
Andres Iniesta holds the World Cup trophy after the 2010 World Cup final KAI PFAFFENBACHREUTERS

Brazil spot kick elimination in ‘86 and 2022:

The last time the ‘Seleçao’ were knocked out on penalties came back in 1986 after a 1-1 draw against France in the quarter-final. Brazil lost on penalty kicks as they did this time round falling to Croatia as a penalty shoot-out decided who progressed to the semi-final stage.