NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


UEFA Champions League winners: which team won each year? Full list

As we gear up to see who will be crowned the latest kings of Europe on Saturday night in Istanbul, we reflect on who has come before.

As we gear up to see who will be crowned the latest kings of Europe on Saturday night in Istanbul, we reflect on who has come before.
Matthias HangstDIARIO AS

As Pep Guardiola looks to finally put Manchester City into the history books for winning the club’s first Champions League, so Inter Milan target a fourth crown. Istanbul awaits both, but glory just one of them, with fans dreaming of a year’s worth of bragging rights and smugness, just as others have done before.

European Cup / Champions League top dogs

There can be no denying it, Real Madrid are the kings of European football. No other team has dominated European football’s top club competition quite like Los Blancos. They made it to, and won, the inaugural edition, (known then as the European Champion Clubs’ Cup) which originally featured, in theory, only the winners of the continent’s major domestic leagues. Madrid’s grip on the tournament, rebranded as the Champions League in 1992, is just as strong today as it was back in the 1950s.

No club has won the competition as many times as they have (13), scored as many goals (1020) or made the most appearances in the tournament (47) or the final itself.

Last year, Carlo Ancelotti steered his side to a fourteenth European Cup triumph beating Liverpool 1-0 at the Stade de France in Paris. As for The Reds, they too are no strangers to big European nights and were looking to go level with AC Milan with seven UCL wins, falling just short.

1956-2022: All European Cup/Champions League winners

Let’s look back at all the winners that have come before...

All European Cup/Champions League winners by year:

1956: Real Madrid
1957: Real Madrid
1958: Real Madrid
1959: Real Madrid
1960: Real Madrid
1961: Benfica
1962: Benfica
1963: AC Milan
1964: Inter
1965: Inter
1966: Real Madrid
1967: Celtic
1968: Manchester United
1969: AC Milan
1970: Feyenoord
1971: Ajax
1972: Ajax
1973: Ajax
1974: Bayern Munich
1975: Bayern Munich
1976: Bayern Munich
1977: Liverpool
1978: Liverpool
1979: Nottingham Forest
1980: Nottingham Forest
1981: Liverpool
1982: Aston Villa
1983: Hamburg
1984: Liverpool
1985: Juventus
1986: Steaua Bucharest
1987: Porto
1988: PSV Eindhoven
1989: AC Milan
1990: AC Milan
1991: Red Star Belgrade
1992: FC Barcelona
1993: Marseille
1994: AC Milan
1995: Ajax
1996: Juventus
1997: Borussia Dortmund
1998: Real Madrid
1999: Manchester United
2000: Real Madrid
2001: Bayern Munich
2002: Real Madrid
2003: AC Milan
2004: Porto
2005: Liverpool
2006: FC Barcelona
2007: AC Milan
2008: Manchester United
2009: FC Barcelona
2010: Inter
2011: FC Barcelona
2012: Chelsea
2013: Bayern Munich
2014: Real Madrid
2015: FC Barcelona
2016: Real Madrid
2017: Real Madrid
2018: Real Madrid
2019: Liverpool
2020: Bayern Munich
2021: Chelsea
2022: Real Madrid
2023: Man City OR Inter Milan

Either Manchester City or Inter Milan will be getting their name etched into the famous trophy come Saturday night. And they will take their place on the long list of European Kings.