NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINargentinaARGENTINAchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOperuPERUlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


Which countries have the most Women’s and Men’s FIFA World Cup titles?

Only one country has won both the Women’s and the Men’s FIFA World Cup after Argentina’s victory in Qatar.

Only one country has won both the Women’s and the Men’s FIFA World Cup after Argentina’s victory in Qatar.

The long wait is finally over. After a 36-year wait, and at the ninth attempt, Argentina are once again World Cup holders. Lionel Messi broke a whole host of records on his way to winning what he initially said would be his last World Cup although there is now some suggestion that he could be tempted to carry on until the 2026 tournament in the United States, Canada and Mexico, by which time he will be 39. Watch this space.

La Albiceleste’s triumph in Doha was their third in the World Cup after 1978, when they won as hosts, and 1986, when Diego Maradona almost single-handedly led them to the trophy. Their latest victory moves them clear of Sunday’s opponents France and Uruguay, who have won two titles each, although they still have work to do to catch up with arch-rivals Brazil, who lead the way. Since the World Cup was founded in 1930, there have been 22 tournaments, which have produced eight different winners.

Which countries have won the most Men’s FIFA World Cup titles?

Brazil: 5 (1958, 1962, 1970, 1994, 2002)
Germany: 4 (1954, 1974, 1990, 2014)
Italy: 4 (1934, 1938, 1982, 2006)
Argentina: 3 (1978, 1986, 2022)
France: 2 (1998, 2018)
Uruguay: 2 (1930, 1950)
England: 1 (1966)
Spain: 1 (2010)

Argentina have yet, however, to make a similar impact in the women’s game, failing to make it out of the group stage on the three occasions that they have qualified for the World Cup finals. They will, however, have another chance to do so in the 2023 competition, which will take place in July and August 2023 in Australia and New Zealand.

One look at the honours list will quickly illustrate the difference between the heavyweight countries in men’s and women’s international soccer and will also draw attention to the fact that the Women’s World Cup is still in its infancy by comparison to the Men’s, with the 2023 tournament just the ninth in history. The inaugural edition took place in China as recently as 1991. However, women’s international soccer has been experiencing significant growth in recent years, with each passing tournament breaking viewing figures of fans watching around the world.

Which countries have won the most Women’s FIFA World Cup titles?

United States: 4 (1991, 1999)
Germany: 2 (2003, 2007)
Norway: 1 (1995)
Japan: 1 (2011)

Germany are the only country to have won both Men’s and Women’s World Cups. Men’s record holders Brazil have reached the final of the women’s tournament on one occasion, while both the Netherlands and Sweden have been losing finalists in both competitions.

Which countries have won the most Men’s and Women’s FIFA World Cup titles combined?

Germany: 6
Brazil: 5
Italy: 4
USA: 4
Argentina: 3
France: 2
Uruguay: 2
England: 1
Japan: 1
Norway: 1
Spain: 1

When will the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup take place?

The 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup will take place in Australia and New Zealand between 20 July and 20 August 2023. 32 countries from six confederations will take part, with 29 places having already been decided. The USWNT will again be amongst the favourites having won the last two tournaments in 2015 and 2019.

When will the 2026 FIFA Men’s World Cup take place?

The 2026 FIFA Men’s World Cup will take place in the United States, Mexico and Canada in June and July 2026. The exact dates have yet to be confirmed. The 2026 event will be the first World Cup in which 48 teams will take part, with FIFA still debating exactly which format to deploy.


To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?