Gabi: "yes, it was a handball... I don't know if it was in the area"
"Sometimes decisions go your way and sometimes they don’t. But we can’t get caught up in that one moment, we deserved to win.”
Atlético captain Gabi spoke to reporters after his side’s 2-0 victory over Barcelona on Wednesday night.
Semi-finals: “I think the team put in a huge amount of effort. We defended well and we attacked well on the counter, we created chances and hit the bar. We’re going through on merit.”
Final minutes: “In the second half Barcelona pushed and we were put on the back foot. But the team defended very well and went forward well on the break. We deserved it.”
Penalty: “Yes, it was a handball. I was on the line and it hit my hand. The referee gave a free kick outside the area, I don’t know if the hand was inside or not. Sometimes decisions go your way and sometimes they don’t. If it was in, it was in. But we can’t get caught up in that one moment, we deserved to win.”
Winning the Champions League: “It’s too early to say, we’re in the semifinals, not the final. We have to carry on working and wait for the draw. Whoever we get will be a tricky opponent, for sure.”
Does the Champions League owe Atlético one? “More than owing us, we’ve earned it.”