NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINargentinaARGENTINAchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOperuPERUlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


Iñigo Martínez handed Spain recall by Lopetegui

The Real Sociedad central defender has been added to the list for for Spain's 2018 World Cup qualifiers against Italy and Albania.

Iñigo Martínez handed Spain recall by Lopetegui

Julen Lopetegui has added Real Sociedad centre-back Iñigo Martínez to the Spain squad who are due to report at the Ciudad del Fútbol in Las Rozas tomorrow. Iñigo is the 26th player in the list and has been called in case any of Spain’s other defenders pick up an injury in today’s action. Lopetegui has a few doubts about the fitness of some players.

Sixth call

It’s Iñigo’s sixth call-up, he has only played two games, both friendlies - against Ecuador and Equatorial Guinea in 2013.

The player told Real Sociedad’s television channel that he was delighted to be back with the national team and that his recall is “the reward” for all of the hard work which La Real have done since the new season started.

"Proud and happy"

“It’s massive news for me; I am back with the Spain squad and very happy to be recalled and to join up with the other players in the national team. At the end of the day, if we work hard – not just me but others will have the chance to get called up because we have great players and a great team. We have to keep battling in the league, now it’s my turn to be with the national team and I plan to enjoy it”, he said.

Spain have a tough 2018 World Cup qualifier against Italy in Turin on Thursday followed by a slightly easier test against Albania in Shkoder on Sunday 9th.

The Spain squad reads:

Goalkeepers: David de Gea (Manchester United), Pepe Reina (Napoli) and Sergio Rico (Sevilla).

Defenders: Jordi Alba (Barcelona), Gerard Piqué (Barcelona), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid), Dani Carvajal (Real Madrid), Sergi Roberto (Barcelona), Nacho (Real Madrid), Iñígo Martínez (Real Sociedad) and Javi Martínez (Bayern).

Midfielders: Sergio Busquets (Barcelona), David Silva (Manchester City), Thiago Alcántara (Bayern Munich), Saúl Ñíguez (Atlético Madrid), Koke (Atlético Madrid), Isco (Real Madrid) and Iniesta (Barcelona).

Forwards: Álvaro Morata (Real Madrid), Lucas Vázquez (Real Madrid), Nolito (Manchester City), Callejón (Nápoles), Diego Costa (Chelsea) and Vitolo (Sevilla).


To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?