NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINargentinaARGENTINAchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOperuPERUlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


The Best FIFA Football Awards 2017: shortlists revealed

After their LaLiga-Champions League double, Real Madrid have seven nominees for The Best Men's Player, with Zinedine Zidane up for The Best Men's Coach.

There are seven Real Madrid footballers nominated for The Best FIFA Men's Player 2017.

Cristiano Ronaldo and Leo Messi will again be duelling for the title of the world's top footballer after their names once more headed the shortlist on Thursday for The Best FIFA Men's Player.

The pair, who have dominated the global award in its varied forms for a decade, will be favourites to collect yet another accolade amid the 24-strong list of the world's best.

Ronaldo, Messi head men's shortlist

Ronaldo enjoyed another remarkable season in which he inspired Real Madrid to a La Liga and Champions League double, while Messi topped him in the Spanish scoring charts for Barcelona while going past a career milestone of 500 goals for the club.

No place for Mbappé among award nominees

A notable absentee from the line-up of men's contenders is Monaco's Kylian Mbapppé, who missed out despite starring for the Ligue 1 champions last term.

Carli Lloyd, the U.S. World Cup winner and two-time Olympic champion, was the inaugural winner and again makes the list of 10 in contention to be The Best FIFA Women's Player.

Real Madrid boss Zidane up for best coach

Zinedine Zidane, who guided Real's landmark season, with seven of their players in the men's shortlist, is recognised in his nomination as The Best Men's Coach.

The awards are a revival of the old FIFA World Player of the Year, which had been combined with France Football magazine's Ballon d'Or for six years before the collaboration ended in 2016. Ronaldo won the inugural men's trophy.

Awards to be handed out in London in October

The accolades are voted for by national coaches and captains, selected media and fans, with the winners to be announced at a ceremony in London on 23 October.

The Best FIFA Awards shortlists:

The Best FIFA Men's player:

Pierre Aubameyang (Gabon, Borussia Dortmund), Leonardo Bonucci (Italy, AC Milan), Gianluigi Buffon (Italy, Juventus), Dani Carvajal (Spain, Real Madrid), Paulo Dybala (Argentina, Juventus), Antoine Griezmann (France, Atletico Madrid), Eden Hazard (Belgium, Chelsea), Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Sweden, Manchester United), Andrés Iniesta (Spain, Barcelona), Harry Kane (England, Tottenham Hotspur), N'Golo Kanté (France, Chelsea), Toni Kroos (Germany, Real Madrid), Robert Lewandowski (Poland, Bayern Munich), Marcelo (Brazil, Real Madrid), Leo Messi (Argentina, Barcelona), Luka Modric (Croatia, Real Madrid), Keylor Navas (Costa Rica, Real Madrid), Manuel Neuer (Germany, Bayern Munich), Neymar (Brazil, Paris St Germain), Sergio Ramos (Spain, Real Madrid), Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal, Real Madrid), Alexis Sánchez (Chile, Arsenal), Luis Suárez (Uruguay, Barcelona), Arturo Vidal (Chile, Bayern Munich)

The Best FIFA Women's Player:

Lucy Bronze (England, Manchester City), Deyna Castellanos (Venezuela, Santa Clarita Blue Heat), Pernille Harder (Denmark, Wolfsburg), Sam Kerr (Australia, Sky Blue), Carli Lloyd (USA, Houston Dash/Manchester City), Dzsenifer Marozsan (Germany, Lyon), Lieke Martens (Netherlands, Barcelona), Vivianne Miedema (Netherlands, Bayern Munich), Wendie Renard (France, Lyon), Jodie Taylor (England, Arsenal)

The Best FIFA Men's Coach:

Massimiliano Allegri (Italy, coach of Juventus), Carlo Ancelotti (Italy, Bayern Munich), Antonio Conte (Italy, Chelsea), Luis Enrique (Spain, Barcelona), Pep Guardiola (Spain, Manchester City), Leonardo Jardim (Portugal, Monaco), Joachim Loew (Germany, German national team), Jose Mourinho (Portugal, Manchester United), Mauricio Pochettino (Argentina, Tottenham Hotspur), Diego Simeone (Argentina, Atletico Madrid), Tite (Brazil, Brazilian national team), Zinedine Zidane (France, Real Madrid)

The Best FIFA Women's Coach:

Olivier Echouafni (France, French national team), Emma Hayes (England, Chelsea), Ralf Kellermann (Germany, Wolfsburg), Xavi Llorens (Spain, Barcelona), Nils Nielsen (Denmark, Danish national team), Florence Omagbemi (Nigeria, Nigerian national team), Gerard Precheur (France, Lyon), Dominik Thalhammer (Austria, Austrian national team), Sarina Wiegman (Netherlands, Netherlands national team), Hwang Yong-Bong (North Korea, North Korean national and under-20 teams).


To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?