NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINargentinaARGENTINAchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOperuPERUlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


Rohit Sharma matches fastest 100 record in T20 internationals

The Indian batsman hit a 35-ball century in the second T20I against Sri Lanka in Indore on Friday.

Rohit Sharma matches fastest 100 record in T20 internationals

Indian batsman Rohit Sharma on Friday equalled David Miller’s fastest century record in the T20 international format.

Sharma matched Miller’s 35-ball record during India’s second T20 international against Sri Lanka at the Holkar Stadium in Indore.

The Indian opener was eventually dismissed for 118 off his 43rd ball.

India hammer Sri Lanka

The Men in Blue thrashed Sri Lanka by 88 runs to take an unassailable 2-0 advantage in the thee-match T20I series.

Sharma, India's captain and opener, smashed 12 fours and 10 sixes during his 43-ball stay, putting together a 165-run stand for the first wicket with KL Rahul.

After India’s 20 overs, Sri Lanka had to reach an overwhelming target of 261 runs.

After just five overs, the Lions lost their opener, Dickwella, who managed to score 25 runs from 19 balls.

With some brilliant batting, Kusal Perera and Upul Tharanga kept Sri Lanka’s hopes alive, but after losing some quick wickets, the Lankans finished their overs 88 runs behind India.

Gayle still holds the T20 record

Back in 2013, Jamaican Chris Gayle scored a 30-ball century for Royal Challengers Bangalore against Pune Warriors in the Indian Premier League.

Despite Sharma and Miller’s 35-ball record hundred for an international Twenty20 match, Gayle’s century remains the quickest in all T20 cricket.


To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?