Trending topics Más temas

Globe Soccer awards for Real Madrid and LaLiga

Globe Soccer awards for Real Madrid and LaLiga

Cristiano Ronaldo is unique. Yesterday the striker was honoured with his fifth Globe Soccer award in Dubai, an event created by his mentor Jorge Mendes. The forward was unable to collect his award which is nothing out of the extraordinary but what is strange is that ahead of the Dubai event he staged a private event of his own with family members and closest friends in attendance. Yesterday Del Piero presented him with the award on the same day where Zidane picked up two prizes for best club and best coach and in his acceptance speech stated: “These awards are testament to things going well".

Real Madrid's coach Zinedine Zidane receives Best Coach of the Year award at the Dubai International Sports Conference in Dubai, UAE December 28, 2017.

Three awards

Real Madrid bagged three awards in total: best club, best coach and best player and their five title haul in 2017 support these decorations. The only fly in the ointment is the recent humbling 0-3 loss to Barcelona at the Bernabéu. It was a bad result and three points dropped at home but looking at the bigger picture it sees Madrid trailing the Catalan club by a massive 14 points (with one game in hand for Zidane's men) and the first round of matches of the 17/18 campaign still not completed. Real Madrid fans could have had a happier Christmas had the result at the Bernabeu last Saturday gone a different way. This may behind the reason for neither Florentino or Cristiano attending the event in the Emirates sending Zidane as the club's ambassador instead.

Javier Tebas Medrano, La Liga President, gestures during the Dubai International Sports Conference in Dubai, UAE December 27, 2017.

LaLiga honoured

Apart from the Real Madrid awards, LaLiga was also presented with the title of 'Best League in the World' and was accepted by the infatigable and a very content Javier Tebas. The award was presented by Fabio Capello and is a recognition of years after years of solid performances by Spanish sides in Europe (12 titles in the past ten years). The recognition is just and explains the satisfacción felt by Tebas on accepting the prize. One award does however not disguise the reality that the Premier League still leads the way. The difficult aspect is not to reach the top but to remain there and with the passing of each year that becomes more difficult.