Free-kick for Messi's goal shouldn't have been given
There was an offside in the build-up just before the free-kick that Messi scored from to give Barcelona victory over Alavés.
The LaLiga game between Barcelona and Alavés at the Camp Nou changed decisively in the 71st minute, when Luis Suárez shot inside the box to level the tie at 1-1. Iniesta had crossed the ball from the left and the ball hit Piqué's hand before the Uruguayan fired home.
Iturralde González, resident referee at AS, said: "It's not a hand-ball. He's lost control of his body because he's falling over and the ball hits his hand"
Offside from Alcácer
However Iturralde considered that Barcelona's second goal shouldn't have stood, because there was an offside from Alcácer in the build-up just before the foul, with Messi slotting home the resultant free-kick.
Te recomendamos en English
- EL CLÁSICO Barcelona vs Real Madrid possible starting line-ups
- SOCCER Barcelona's Piqué talks to El País about retirement, Messi, Clásico
- PREMIER LEAGUE Cristiano Ronaldo vows to silence critics and win trophies at Manchester United
- LIGUE 1 Marseille vs PSG: times, TV and how to watch online
- MLB Dodgers vs. Braves commentary, scores, stats and updates: Championship Series
- WORLD NEWS La Palma volcano, live updates today: eruption, tsunami warning and latest news | Canary Islands