NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINargentinaARGENTINAchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOperuPERUlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA

BARCELONA 2 - 1 ALAVÉS

Alavés demand penalty for Umtiti handball

In the 88th minute of the game the Barcelona defender stopped a shot at close range from Alavés' Munir.

Update:
Alavés demand penalty for Umtiti handball

Controversy over the refereeing surrounded the end of Barcelona's 2-1 win over Alavés. After Piqué involuntarily handled the ball in the build-up to Suárez's equaliser, and the assistant referee missed an offside from Alcácer in the play leading up to the foul which Messi converted to give Barcelona the lead, Suárez kicked Duarte in the groin as Sergi Roberto was taking a corner. The Uruguayan wasn't punished. 

Alavés demand penalty for Umtiti handball

Just after, in the 88th minute, Alavés demanded a penalty for a handball from Umtiti, stopping a Munir shot inside the box. The Alavés striker, inside the box, shot and the ball clearly hit the right hand of the Barcelona defender. The referee waved play on, to the outrage of the Alavés players, who were still protesting the decision after the final whistle. 

Iturralde González, the resident referee at AS, however said the referee got the call right: "he's got his hand down and in a natural position. What's more, the shot from Munir is from very close and he doesn't have time to react".

ClassificationPTSWMTMLM
Full classification
Upcoming matches
Calendar

ClassificationPTSWMTMLM
Full classification
Upcoming matches
Calendar
Rules

To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?