NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINargentinaARGENTINAchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOperuPERUlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA

REAL MADRID - LIVERPOOL

Benzema rightly called offside for disallowed goal

According to AS' resident referee Iturralde, the linesman was right to raise his flag against the Frenchman in the second half in Kiev.

Update:
Benzema rightly called offside for disallowed goal

Karim Benzema thought he had given Real Madrid the lead in the Champions League final against Liverpool in Kiev in the 43rd minute but the raised flag of the linesman cut short the Frenchman’s celebrations.

It was a close call, but resident AS referee Eduardo Iturralde, a retired Uefa elite match official, says that the call was completely correct.

Speaking on Spanish radio, Iturralde said: “Benzema is slightly offside and Cristiano Ronaldo is as well.”

It was Ronaldo’s header that created the opening, with Liverpool keeper Loris Karius parrying into Benzema’s path.

Rules

To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?