NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINargentinaARGENTINAchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOperuPERUlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


FIFPro Awards: Real Madrid, Barcelona, Atlético represented

The World Footballers' Association has confirmed the 55 names that have been nominated for the short-list for the 2017/18 season with a number of surprises.

FIFPro Awards: 11 Real Madrid, 10 Barcelona, 3 Atlético

The World Footballers' Association along with Fifa have announced their shortlist of the best players for the 2017/18 season following the voting process conducted by 25,000 player across 65 countries. LaLiga's big three clubs - Real Madrid (11), Barcelona (10) and Atlético Madrid (3) - have 24 representatives on the list.

Last season's FIFPro ideal XI was: Buffon, Alves, Ramos, Bonucci, Marcelo, Kroos, Modric, Iniesta, Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo and Neymar. This year's side is very much expected to see many of the names change although there are a couple of obvious players that will remain.


The shortlist for the keeper of the season award:

Gianluigi Buffon – Italy, Juventus/Paris Saint-Germain
Thibaut Courtois – Belgium, Chelsea/Real Madrid CF
David de Gea – Spain, Manchester United FC
Keylor Navas – Costa Rica, Real Madrid CF
Marc-Andre ter Stegen – Germany, FC Barcelona

Paris Saint-Germain's Italian goalkeeper Gianluigi Buffon
Full screen
Paris Saint-Germain's Italian goalkeeper Gianluigi BuffonPASCAL GUYOTAFP

Both Courtois and Buffon have moved club this season and the notable absence from the shortlist is that of Atletico Madrid's Slovenian stopper Jan Oblak.


The 20 defenders nominated include eight debutants. The full list is comprised of:

Jordi Alba – Spain, FC Barcelona
Dani Alves – Brazil, Paris Saint-Germain
Daniel Carvajal – Spain, Real Madrid CF
Giorgio Chiellini – Italy, Juventus FC
Virgil van Dijk – The Netherlands, Southampton/Liverpool
Diego Godin – Uruguay, Atletico Madrid
Mats Hummels – Germany, FC Bayern Munchen
Joshua Kimmich – Germany, FC Bayern Munchen
Dejan Lovren – Croatia, Liverpool FC
Marcelo – Brazil, Real Madrid CF

Real Madrid's Marcelo
Full screen

Yerry Mina – Colombia, FC Barcelona/Everton FC
Benjamin Pavard – France, VfB Stuttgart
Gerard Pique – Spain, FC Barcelona
Sergio Ramos – Spain, Real Madrid CF
Thiago Silva – Brazil, Paris Saint-Germain
Kieran Trippier – England, Tottenham Hotspur
Samuel Umtiti – France, FC Barcelona
Raphael Varane – France, Real Madrid CF
Sime Vrsaljko – Croatia, Atletico Madrid/Inter Milan
Kyle Walker – England, Manchester City FC


There are 15 midfielders on the nominations list. These are:

Sergio Busquets – Spain, FC Barcelona
Casemiro – Brazil, Real Madrid CF
Philippe Coutinho – Brazil, Liverpool/FC Barcelona
Kevin De Bruyne – Belgium, Manchester City FC
Eden Hazard – Belgium, Chelsea FC
Andres Iniesta – Spain, FC Barcelona/Vissel Kobe
Isco – Spain, Real Madrid CF
N'Golo Kante – France, Chelsea FC

France's N'Golo Kante and Paul Pogba celebrate with the World Cup.
Full screen
France's N'Golo Kante and Paul Pogba celebrate with the World Cup.GONZALO FUENTESREUTERS

Toni Kroos – Germany, Real Madrid CF
Nemanja Matic – Serbia, Manchester United FC
Luka Modric – Croatia, Real Madrid CF
Paul Pogba – France, Manchester United FC
Ivan Rakitic – Croatia, FC Barcelona
David Silva – Spain, Manchester City FC
Arturo Vidal – Chile, FC Bayern Munchen/FC Barcelona


Karim Benzema – France, Real Madrid CF
Edinson Cavani – Uruguay, Paris Saint-Germain
Paulo Dybala – Juventus FC, Argentina
Antoine Griezmann – France, Atletico Madrid
Harry Kane – England, Tottenham Hotspur
Robert Lewandowski – Poland, FC Bayern Munchen
Romelu Lukaku – Belgium, Manchester United FC
Mario Mandzukic – Croatia, Juventus FC
Sadio Mane – Senegal, Liverpool FC
Kylian Mbappe – France, Paris Saint-Germain
Lionel Messi – Argentina, FC Barcelona

Lionel Messi
Full screen

Neymar Junior – Brazil, Paris Saint-Germain
Cristiano Ronaldo – Portugal, Real Madrid CF/Juventus FC
Mohamed Salah – Egypt, Liverpool FC
Luis Suarez – Uruguay, FC Barcelona

London is the venue for the announcement of the 2018 FIFPro FIFA World XI, during The Best Fifa Football Awards ceremony on September 24.


To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?