Copa América

Agüero back in Argentina squad in Copa América pre-list

Manchester City striker Sergio Agüero has been selected in the 32-man pre list Argentina squad for the Copa América, which starts in Brazil next month.

Agüero back in Argentina squad in Copa América pre-list

Manchester City striker Sergio Agüero is part of Argentina's provisional squad for the Copa América after a 32 man pre-list squad was released on Wednesday.

Agüero, who scored 21 Premier League goals in 33 appearances for Manchester City this season, has been in international exile since after last year's World Cup in Russia, when Argentina crashed out in the last 16.

Manchester City's Sergio Aguero poses with his medal as he celebrates winning the Premier League

The Argentine Football Association (AFA) has confirmed a 32 player provisional list, before submitting their final 23-man selection for the tournament two weeks later.

The Copa América, which will be held in Brazil between June 14 and July 7, will feature the 10 South American teams, as well as Qatar and Japan as guests.

Argentina, who have been coached by Lionel Scaloni since the departure of Jorge Sampaoli last year, will play in Group B alongside Colombia, Paraguay and Qatar.

Argentina 32 player provisional list: 


Franco Armani (River Plate), Esteban Andrada (Boca Juniors), Agustín Marchesín (América, México), Juan Musso (Udinese, Italy) and Gerónimo Rulli (Real Sociedad, Spain).


Renzo Saravia (Racing), Gabriel Mercado (Sevilla, Spain), Nicolás Otamendi (Manchester City, England), Germán Pezzella (Fiorentina, Italy), Walter Kanemann (Gremio, Brazil), Nicolás Tagliafico (Ajax, Holland), Marcos Acuña (Sporting Lisboa, Portugal), Ramiro Funes Mori (Villarreal, Spain) and Juan Foyth (Tottenham, England).


Leandro Paredes (PSG, France), Giovani Lo Celso (Betis, Spain), Exequiel Palacios (River Plate), Guido Rodríguez (América, México), Roberto Pereyra (Watford, England), Rodrigo De Paul (Udinese, Italy), Matías Zaracho (Racing), Ángel Di María (PSG, France), Gonzalo Martínez (Atlanta United, USA), Paulo Dybala (Juventus, Italy), Maximiliano Meza (Monterrey, México), Iván Marcone (Boca Juniors).


Lionel Messi (Barcelona, Spain), Sergio Agüero (Manchester City, England), Lautaro Martínez (Inter, Italy), Ángel Correa (Atlético, Spain), Matías Suárez (River), Mauro Icardi (Inter, Italy).