NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINargentinaARGENTINAchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOperuPERUlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


Zsori wins the Puskas Award 2019 for this superb overhead kick

The Hungarian beat Quintero and Messi for the best goal of the season, with an overhead kick from distance on the day of his debut.


Daniel Zsori won the Puskas Award for the best goal at FIFA's The Best Awards in Milan, beating Messi and Quintero the other short-listed finalists.

Zsori's stunning overhead effort

The Debreceni player scored an overhead kick from the edge of the box, in the big Hungarian match against Ferencvárosi, on his debut and in time added on.

Messi was one of the finalists for the seventh time since the award was launched in 2009, for his stunning chip against Betis in LaLiga, yet once again was left trophyless.

Juan Fernando Quintero was the other finalist, for his effort for River Plate against Racing Club in the Argentinean Superliga.

Puskas Award winners:

  • Daniel Zsori (2019)
  • Mohamed Salah (2018)
  • Olivier Giroud (2017)
  • Mohd Faiz Subri (2016)
  • Wendell Lira (2015)
  • James Rodríguez (2014)
  • Zlatan Ibrahimovic (2013)
  • Miroslav Stoch (2012)
  • Neymar (2011)
  • Hamit Altintop (2010)
  • Cristiano Ronaldo (2009)

To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?