Coronavirus: total Nigeria cases and deaths, real-time map, 8 April

Coronavirus live: latest Covid-19 updates - 8 April

Nigeria & global Covid-19 cases (02:50 WAT/03:50 CEST)

According to Johns Hopkins University Whiting School of Engineering, there have been 276 confirmed coronavirus cases and six deaths in Nigeria, while 44 people in the country have recovered after contracting Covid-19.

The total number of confirmed coronavirus cases worldwide at the above time stood at 1,513,358. In total, 88,444 people have died from Covid-19, while 329,492 have recovered from the disease.

Nigeria & global Covid-19 cases (00:50 WAT/01:00 CEST)

The latest figures published by Johns Hopkins University Whiting School of Engineering show that there have been 276 confirmed coronavirus cases and six deaths in Nigeria, while 44 people in the country have recovered after contracting Covid-19.

The total number of confirmed coronavirus cases worldwide at the above time stood at 1,511,104. In total, 88,338 people have died from Covid-19, while 328,661 have recovered from the disease.

Nigeria & global Covid-19 cases (23:00 WAT/00:00 CEST)

According to the latest figures published by Johns Hopkins University Whiting School of Engineering, there have been 276 confirmed coronavirus cases and six deaths in Nigeria, while 44 people in the country have recovered after contracting Covid-19.

The total number of confirmed coronavirus cases worldwide at the above time stood at 1,500,830. In total, 87,706 people have died from Covid-19, while 317,855 have recovered from the disease.

Nigeria & global Covid-19 cases (20:00 WAT/21:00 CEST)

According to the latest figures published by Johns Hopkins University Whiting School of Engineering, there have been 254 confirmed coronavirus cases and six deaths in Nigeria, while 44 people in the country have recovered after contracting Covid-19.

The total number of confirmed coronavirus cases worldwide at the above time stood at 1,475,976. In total, 86,979 people have died from Covid-19, while 317,372 have recovered from the disease.

Nigeria & global Covid-19 cases (18:00 WAT/19:00 CEST)

The latest figures from Johns Hopkins University Whiting School of Engineering indicate that there have been 254 confirmed coronavirus cases and six deaths in Nigeria, while 44 people in the country have recovered after contracting Covid-19.

The total number of confirmed coronavirus cases worldwide at the above time stood at 1,452,378. In total, 85,397 people have died from Covid-19, while 308,757 have recovered from the disease.

Nigeria & global Covid-19 cases (14:15 WAT/15:15 CEST)

The latest figures from Johns Hopkins University Whiting School of Engineering indicate that there have been 254 confirmed coronavirus cases and six deaths in Nigeria, while 44 people in the country have recovered after contracting Covid-19.

The total number of confirmed coronavirus cases worldwide at the above time stood at 1,446,557. In total, 83,149 people have died from Covid-19, while 307,982 have recovered from the disease.

Nigeria & Global Covid-19 cases (14:15 WAT/15:15 CEST)

The latest figures from Johns Hopkins University Whiting School of Engineering indicate that there have been 254 confirmed coronavirus cases and six deaths in Nigeria, while 44 people in the country have recovered after contracting Covid-19.

The total number of confirmed coronavirus cases worldwide at the above time stood at 1,446,557. In total, 83,149 people have died from Covid-19, while 307,982 have recovered from the disease.

Nigeria Covid-19 cases (11:30 WAT/12:30 CEST)

The latest figures from Johns Hopkins University Whiting School of Engineering indicate that there have been 254 confirmed coronavirus cases and six deaths in Nigeria, while 44 people in the country have recovered after contracting Covid-19.

Worldwide coronavirus cases (11:30 WAT/12:30 CEST)

The total number of confirmed coronavirus cases worldwide at the above time stood at 1,434,426. In total, 82,220 people have died from Covid-19, while 307,819 have recovered from the disease.

As of 09:30 WAT on Wednesday 8 April (10:30 CEST), there had been 254 confirmed coronavirus cases and six deaths in Nigeria, while 44 people in the country have recovered after contracting Covid-19.

IMF considering Nigeria request

The International Monetary Fund on Tuesday said it was considering Nigeria's request for $3.4 billion in emergency financing to combat the impact of the new coronavirus pandemic on Africa's biggest economy.

IMF Managing Director Kristalina Georgieva said Nigeria’s economy was threatened by the twin shocks of the COVID-19 pandemic and a sharp fall in international oil prices, and the country had asked for funding to help protect the most vulnerable people and companies.

"We are working hard to respond to this request so that a proposal can be considered by the IMF’s Executive Board as soon as possible,” Georgieva said in a statement.

IMF pledges prompt handling of Nigeria’s $3.4bn requesthttps://t.co/xSNWP0Sftn

— Daily Trust (@daily_trust) April 8, 2020

Worldwide real-time coronavirus map

Map created and hosted by Johns Hopkins University Whiting School of Engineering, our thanks to them. 

Click here if the map doesn't automatically appear.

(Map created and hosted by Johns Hopkins University Whiting School of Engineering, our thanks to them.)

Worldwide coronavirus cases

The total number of confirmed coronavirus cases worldwide at the above time stood at 1,432,577. In total, 82,172 people have died from Covid-19, while 301,649 have recovered from the disease.

Live coverage of the coronavirus crisis

You can stay up-to-date with the latest developments in the coronavirus pandemic by following our daily live blog.

.