NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


Nobel Peace Prize: who has nominated Trump and why?

US President Donald Trump has been nominated for the 2021 Nobel Peace Prize - and it's not the first time he's been put forward for the award...

U.S. President Donald Trump concludes a campaign rally at Smith Reynolds Regional Airport in Winston-Salem, North Carolina, U.S., September 8, 2020. REUTERS/Jonathan Ernst

A far-right Norwegian member of parliament has nominated United States President Donald Trump for the 2021 Nobel Peace Prize for his efforts to broker peace in the Middle East.

Trump nominated for Israel-UAE peace efforts

Christian Tybring-Gjedde of the right-wing Progress Party told Reuters on Wednesday that Trump should be considered for the award "for his contribution for peace between Israel and the UAE".

On 15 September, the US president is due to host a ceremony at the White House in which Israel and the United Arab Emirates are to sign an agreement normalising relations between the two countries.

"He absolutely has a chance at getting the Nobel Peace Prize

"No matter how Trump acts at home and what he says at press conferences, he has absolutely a chance at getting the Nobel Peace Prize," Tybring-Gjedde told AP.

It is the second time the Norwegian has put Trump forward for the award. In 2018, Tybring-Gjedde and fellow Progress Party politician Per-Willy Amundsen nominated the American for his efforts at nuclear disarmament in North Korea.

Tybring-Gjedde daughter critical of Trump nomination

Speaking to CBS, Tybring-Gjedde’s daughter Mathilde, who is a Norwegian member of parliament for the centre-right Conservative Party, hit out at Trump’s nomination.

"The prize is given to those who have 'done the most or the best work for fraternity between nations, for the abolition or reduction of standing armies and for the holding and promotion of peace congresses.' Donald Trump does not come to mind when I read this description," she told the news outlet.

Former President Obama won award in 2009

First handed out in 1901, the Nobel Peace Prize is one of five awards established in the will of the Swedish inventor and philanthropist Alfred Nobel.

Trump’s predecessor as US president, Barack Obama, won the accolade in 2009, with the Nobel Committee lauding his "extraordinary efforts to strengthen international diplomacy and cooperation between peoples".

Its most recent recipient was Ethiopian Prime Minister Abiy Ahmed Ali, "for his efforts to achieve peace and international cooperation, and in particular for his decisive initiative to resolve the border conflict with neighbouring Eritrea".

2020 Nobel Peace Prize winner to be announced next month

The nomination process for the 2020 Nobel Peace Prize closed on 31 January, with the winner to be revealed in Oslo on 9 October.

According to the Nobel Committee, 318 candidates were nominated for this year's award, of which 211 are individuals and 107 are organisations.

Those eligible to submit a Nobel Peace Prize nomination include members of national parliaments and governments.


To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?