TECH NEWS

Apple Keynote launch event: when is it, how to watch, what to expect?

IPad Air, Apple Watch, Arcade and One, All the information you need to follow the highly-anticipated event which has been named 'Time flies' on September 15.

Apple Keynote launch event: when is it, how to watch, what to expect?

Apple special event live online: new iPad Air, Watch Series 6...

One of the most anticipated events in the world of technology is almost here. Tuesday 15 September has arrived and Apple is ready to make the latest unveiling of its latest generation of tech and devices at the event called ‘Time flies’. As is often the case, the most discussed of all these is the iPhone 12 but, alas, fans will have to wait a little longer before they get an official glimpse of the cutting edge mobile (although here’s what to expect when it comes).

Follow Apple's Special Event live

Tick tock, tick tock | Not much time until we find out about the new Apple watches.

Apple's 'Time flies' launch event details

Apple already confirmed that this year will see two launch events: the first one today is expected to focus on the newest iteration of the iPad and Apple Watch, with the iPhone coming next month. Double the interest and you can follow it as it happens no matter where you are in the world, either with the Apple Keynote 2020 event live online or accessing a delayed offering.

‘Time flies’: what time is the Apple launch September 2020?

Those based in Cupertino, where Apple’s Californian HQ resides, will get things going at 10:00 (PT) on Tuesday (that’s 13:00 ET, 18:00 BST and 19:00 CEST). To join them live, you’ll need to know when that is where you are and this handy tool can tell you. Here are a few of the timezones at a glance:

New York - 13:00

London - 18:00

Madrid - 19:00

Dubai - 21:00

Tokyo - 02:00 (Wed 16 Sept)

‘Time flies’: how to watch the Apple launch September 2020?

This year’s launch is clearly very different to the previous ones due to the ongoing Covid-19 pandemic that has seen most large public events cancelled. Thankfully, tech is our friend and the use of streaming services ensure that the show can go on.

Just as it did when it hosted June’s WWDC 2020, Apple will share this presentation virtually and can be accessed via the Apple Events webpage. It is also available on Apple's official YouTube channel and we have embedded this below for your ease of access.

‘Time flies’: what can we expect from Apple?

As stated above, the understanding is that there will be no iPhone reveal in the September launch. But this does not mean that it is not worth keeping a close eye on developments. Here is some of what we are likely to see:

Apple Watch Series 6 - the next-gen wearable is expected to have a built-in blood oxygen monitor along with the other health aspects.

Apple Watch SE - if you’re looking for a more affordable wrist option with all the popular features, this could be right up your street.

iPad Air 4 - likely to look a lot like the iPad Pro selection, this new tablet is believed to be unveiled under the name ‘iPad Air (2020)’.

Apple One - a new subscription package will be offered to customers with a choice of tiers and potentially more iCloud storage.

Other gadgets that could be seen included the AirPods Studio, the headphones that we expected to see at the beginning of the year, as well as AirTags, the small tiles that help you locate objects such as keys, bags and wallets. And then there’s Apple Arcade’s streaming options.

Whoever said it was all about the iPhone didn’t read on…