NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINargentinaARGENTINAchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOperuPERUlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


2021 MLB Opening Day: games, dates and schedule

The 2021 Major League Baseball season is set to begin on Thursday 1 April with 15 teams in action on the Opening Day, and will run through to 3 October.

2021 MLB Opening Day: games, dates and schedule
Abbie ParrAFP

The 2021 Major League Baseball regular season will get underway on Thursday 1 April and will run through to 3 October. This year’s All-Star Game will take place on 13 July at Truist Park in Atlanta, Georgia. Last season, the MLB season was delayed and drastically reduced with fans unable to attend games because of the coronavirus pandemic.

This year however, the full six-month, 162-game programme returns and the Opening Day looks set to be like no other. Many teams plan to welcome back fans for their opening game while others plan to reopen their ballparks to the public at some point later in the season.

The MLB at Field of Dreams game between the New York Yankees and the Chicago White Sox which had originally been scheduled for 2020 but was cancelled due to the pandemic, will take place in Dyersville, Iowa on Thursday 12 August. Meanwhile, the Los Angeles Angels and the Cleveland Indians will contest the 2021 MLB Little League Classic at BB&T Ballpark in Williamsport, Pennsylvania on Sunday 22 August.

In contrast to previous seasons, which featured maybe just a couple of games, this year’s Opening Day will commence with all 15 teams in action.

Opening Day, Thursday 1 April 2021:

Toronto Blue Jays - New York Yankees (13:05 ET)

Cleveland Indians - Detroit Tigers (13:10 ET)

Baltimore Orioles - Boston Red Sox (14:10 ET)

Minnesota Twins - Milwaukee Brewers (14:10 ET)

Pittsburgh Pirates - Chicago Cubs (14:20 ET)

Atlanta Braves - Philadelphia Phillies (15:05 ET)

Los Angeles Dodgers - Colorado Rockies (16:10 ET)

Arizona D-backs - San Diego Padres (16:10 ET)

St Louis Cardinals - Cincinnati Reds (16:10 ET)

Texas Rangers - Kansas City Royals (16:10 ET)

Tampa Bay Rays - Miami Marlins (16:10 ET)

New York Mets - Washington Nationals (19:09 ET)

Boston White Sox - Los Angeles Angels (22:05 ET)

Houston Astros - Oakland Athletics (22:07 ET)

San Francisco Giants - Seattle Mariners (22:10 ET)


To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?