F1 2021 teams: drivers line-ups and cars

Seven of the ten teams have changed their driver line-ups for the 2021 Formula One season, which sees the debut of rookie Mick Schumacher and the return of Fernando Alonso.

F1 2021 teams: drivers line-ups and cars

The 2021 Formula One season gets underway this weekend with the Bahrain Grand Prix, where Lewis Hamilton will begin his Championship defense after the Briton won a record-equaling seventh-title last season.

The Covid-19 pandemic has prompted several changes to the F1 season, one of the main ones being that a record 23 races will be held this year, which sees the return of the Dutch Grand Prix at Zandvoort and a new addition in the form of the Saudi Arabian Grand Prix at a street circuit in Jeddah.

There have also been major changes with the teams themselves, with seven of the ten constructors starting the 2021 season with new driver lineups.

Last season’s winning constructor Mercedes remains unchanged, having managed to retain the services of Hamilton, who signed a one-year extension after months of speculation regarding his future, and last year’s Championship runner up, Valtteri Bottas.

Lewis Hamilton of Mercedes-AMG Petronas arrives at the Bahrain International Circuit ahead of free practice for Formula One 2021 Bahrain Grand Prix scheduled on 28 March.

Red Bull Racing Honda, which finished second in the constructors championship last season, has held onto 2020’s second runner-up Max Verstappen, and will match the Belgian up with last-year’s fourth-placed Championship finisher Sergio Perez, who has switched from Racing Point BWT Mercedes.

BWT has rebranded as Aston Martin-Mercedes for 2021 and have filled Perez’s seat with veteran Sebastian Vettel. Vettel’s place at Ferrari, meanwhile, has been taken by Carlos Sainz Jr., who has left McLaren.

Mick Schumacher debuts, as Alonso returns

All eyes will be on HAAS this year as the team have recruited F2 graduate Mick Schumacher, son of seven-time world champion Michael. Schumacher will partner with fellow rookie, Russia’s Nikita Mazepin, as HAAS have offloaded both of their drivers from last season, Romain Grosjean and Kevin Magnussen, both of whom will not compete this year.

This season will also see the return of two-time champion Fernando Alonso after a two-year hiatus. The Spaniard will race with Alpine (the rebranded Renault team) alongside Esteban Ocon. As Alonso comes into the Alpine Renault team, Daniel Ricciardo has moved on and will race with McLaren, who have held onto Lando Norris for the 2021 season.

Nikita Mazepin and Mick Schumacher

Formula One Teams 2021: Drivers, Cars and Engines

Team Drivers Car Engine
Mercedes Lewis Hamilton (#44), Valtteri Bottas (#77) F1 W12 Mercedes
Red Bull Max Verstappen (#33), Sergio Perez (#11) RB16B Honda
McLaren Daniel Ricciardo (#3), Lando Norris (#4) MCL35M Mercedes
Aston Martin Lance Stroll (#18), Sebastian Vettel (#5) AMR21 Mercedes
Alpine Esteban Ocon (#31), Fernando Alonso (#14) A521 Renault
Ferrari Carlos Sainz Jr (#55), Charles Leclerc (#16) SF21 Ferrari
AlphaTauri Pierre Gasly (#10), Yuki Tsunoda (#22) AT02 Honda
Alfa Romeo Kimi Raikkonen (#7), Antonio Giovinazzi (#99) C41 Ferrari
Haas Mick Schumacher (#47), Nikita Mazepin (#9) VF-21 Ferrari
Williams George Russell (#63), Nicholas Latifi (#6) FW34B Mercedes