NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINargentinaARGENTINAchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOperuPERUlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


Bruno Fernandes matches Cristiano Ronaldo and Van Nistelrooy with Man United award

Manchester United have confirmed Bruno Fernandes has been voted their Player of the Year for a second consecutive season.

Bruno Fernandes matches Cristiano Ronaldo and Van Nistelrooy with Man United award

Bruno Fernandes has followed in the footsteps of Manchester United greats Cristiano Ronaldo and Ruud van Nistelrooy after being voted Player of the Year for a second straight season. The Portugal international became only the fifth player in United history to win the club's annual award in consecutive campaigns.

Fernandes claimed the Sir Matt Busby Player of the Year award after receiving an overwhelming 63% of the votes cast by supporters. Luke Shaw came in second place on 21% with Edinson Cavani third on 6%.

Manchester United legends

Fernandes edged out Anthony Martial to last year's award despite only signing for United in the January window, having made a huge immediate impact. The 26-year-old is only the fifth player in club history to win the accolade in back-to-back years after Cristiano Ronaldo, Van Nistelrooy, David de Gea and Roy Keane. Fernandes and Van Nistelrooy are the only players to do it in their first two seasons with the club.

There was recognition for Shaw, though, as he was voted Players' Player of the Year, an award which went to Martial last time around. Fernandes came out on top in another award, Goal of the Season, for his sublime chip against Everton in February. That was one of 28 goals he has scored in all competitions so far this season, while he has also added 17 assists in a fine individual campaign. Eighteen of his goals and 11 of the assists have come in 36 Premier League appearances, having featured in every top-flight game for United.

Cantona and Keane

There was also recognition for two former United stars on Tuesday as Eric Cantona and Keane were named to the Premier League Hall of Fame. They join Alan Shearer and Thierry Henry in what has been labelled the most prestigious honour awarded by the competition.

"I feel very lucky to be inducted but I've only been inducted because of the players I've played with," said ex-United captain Keane.

Cantona, meanwhile, felt his inclusion was warranted. "I am very happy and very proud but, at the same time, I am not surprised," said the former United talisman. "I would've been surprised not to be elected! I played football, I loved football, I dreamed about football as a kid. Of course to play in England was a dream, it was a dream for everybody, playing for the Premier League. I have been lucky to play in this team, with wonderful players, a wonderful manager and wonderful fans. We won and we really enjoyed [it], and it was the football I dreamed about because Manchester United, it's a club where they want to win things but in a good way. It was like this in the time of Matt Busby, it's the identity of this club and the philosophy of this club."


To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?