EURO 2020

Spain's squad numbers for Euro 2020: no takers for Ramos' No.15, Gerard Moreno handed No.9…

Spain announced the squad numbers designated to the 24 players who will be taking part in Euro 2020. Sergio Ramos' No.15 shirt has not been claimed.

Spain's squad numbers for Euro 2020: no takers for Ramos' No.15, Gerard Moreno handed No.9…
Selección Española

Spain continues with their preparations for Euro 2020 which gets underway on 11 June, while La Roja's first game will be on 14 June against Sweden at 21:00 hours CEST (5pm ET/ 12 noon PT). Before that, Luis Enrique's team will warm up with a couple of friendlies. The first will be against  Portugal on Friday, and the second on Tuesday 8th against Colombia. The RFEF has announced the full list of squad numbers designated to the 24 players who will be involved in the tournament - with some interesting choices.

No player has been handed the number 15 shirt, worn by national team captain Sergio Ramos. Ramos, who was left out of the list for Euro 2020, has worn the No.15 for Spain almost exclusively during the past 15 years in honour of his great friend Antonio Puerta. When Diario AS asked the RFEF why the No.15 hand no been assigned to anyone, they explained that no one wanted to take it out of respect for the captain.

As always, one of the great debates among football fans in Spain is who should wear the No. 9 shirt. For this occasion, it will be Gerard Moreno, who incidentally has worn it before. While Pedri has chosen the unusual No.26 shirt. For his return to the national team, César Azpilicueta  elected the No.2, Pau Torres  will wear the No.4 which is usually Iñigo Martínez's number while the No.6 which was worn by Sergio Canales in recent games, will go to Marcos Llorente.

Spain's squad numbers at Euro 2020:


1 - David De Gea

13 - Robert Sánchez

23 - Unai Simón


18 - Jordi Alba

2 - César Azpilicueta

12 - Eric García

14 - José Luis Gayà

24 - Aymeric Laporte

6 - Marcos Llorente

3 – Diego Llorente

4 – Pau Torres


10 – Thiago Alcántara

5 – Sergio Busquets

26 – Pedri González

16 – Rodri Hernández

8 – Koke Resurrección

17 – Fabián Ruiz


7 – Álvaro Morata

9 – Gerard Moreno

19 – Dani Olmo

21 – Mikel Oyarzabal

22 – Pablo Sarabia

11 – Ferran Torres

20 – Adama Traoré

Second training session

The Spain squad completed their second training session in the run-up to Euro 2020 with three players who joined the group on Tuesday - David de Gea, Pau Torres and Gerard Moreno. Luis Enrique took his players through an evening session which was held behind closed doors and without Adama Traoré plus five players from Chelsea and Manchester City. The Wolves winger continues with a personal recovery programme after picking up a muscular injury in the final league game of the season against Manchester United. He is expected to miss Friday's friendly against Portugal at the Metropolitano.

César Azpilicueta, Eric García, Aymeric Laporte, Rodrigo Hernández and Ferrán Torres, who were involved in the Champions League final at the weekend, are due to join up with the squad on Wednesday at 14:30 hours and will take part in another evening session.