NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINargentinaARGENTINAchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOperuPERUlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


Copa América 2021: schedule, dates and groups

All the necessary information you need to know about the next CONMEBOL South American football championships played in Brazil from 13 June.

Copa America 2021

After the original hosts saw a worrying increase in covid cases (Argentina) and faced political instability (Colombia), CONMEBOL confirmed Brazil as the host of the 47th edition of the oldest and most exciting national team football competition in the world.

Invited nations Australia and Qatar had previoulsy decided to withdraw from the competition (on health grounds), which produced new modifications of the Copa América schedule.

The latest schedule gives an impression of one of the most competitive in recent years, with ten South American countries included and separated into the following two groups.

Related news:

Group A:

- Argentina

- Bolivia

- Uruguay

- Chile

- Paraguay

Group B:

- Brazil

- Colombia

- Venezuela

- Ecuador

- Peru

The competition schedule will comprise 28 matches, with venues much closer to each other, which will have; as a result, reduced travel time for the teams and additional rest days between the group and the knockout stage.

The host cities

- Rio De Janeiro - Maracanã and Nilton Santos Stadiums

- Brasília - Mané Garrincha Stadium

- Goiânia - Olimpico

- Cuiabá - Pantanal Arena

Mané Garrincha Stadium in Brasilia will host the opening game between Brazil and Venezuela, while the legendary Maracanã Stadium will host the final on the 10 July. One day before, on the 9 July, Brasilia will host the third-place match. The teams that progress from the group stage will be able to bring up to three new substitutes from their original player's list.

Copa America (2021) schedule
Full screen
Copa America (2021) schedule

To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?